Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question about Land Raiders
Reply
Old 15 Jul 2007, 02:04   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 347
Send a message via MSN to InsanitysFall
Default Question about Land Raiders

well last night after one one of my games two of the club vets decided to play a game and there was a huge argument concerning land raiders.

the question is: if a land raider is purchased as a dedicated transport for terminators/HQ choice does it still occupy a Heavy Support force org slot?


one of the guys said it didn't because it is purchased as a transport so therefore doesn't occupy a force org slot.

but the other guy seems to think that it should because it's written up in the HS part of the codex whereas rhinos and razorback's etc are written up in the transport section. and also because when reading about the land raider transport option it points you to the heavy support selection.

now i was just curious as to what you guys think.

because i have only just started playing marines (only had 2 games so far. 1 with a land raider) and i was sure that even tho i had it transporting my HQ it still had to take up a slot of its own.


to me it just seems unfair that if someone is willing to pay the points they can have for example 3-4 land raiders with termi's or whatever else and THEN 3 seperate heavy support slots.



anyway, they are calling GW on monday to find out but i'd just like to see how everyone else has been playing it
__________________
InsanitysFall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2007, 02:12   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stillwater, Oklahoma
Posts: 2,292
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

Land Raiders take up a HS slot, but are not dedicated trasports.
__________________
R.I.P. Freddie Hope, May your memory never die.

Quote:
Originally Posted by runer60000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearhead
I believe so, I get mine at Walgreen's for around $7. Brake Fluid works too (Pine Sol Works on metals, not so well on plastics), but I prefer the spraycanniness of the Easy Off. Spray it (Wear gloves, it's important), let it sit, and take a toothbrush to it later.
so what your saying is that oven cleaner can remove paint from plastic models? and after that, you take a toothbrush to your plastic model, and the paint just comes off?
Gearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2007, 02:53   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,744
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

I don't have the codex right next to me but I think it states it pretty plainly what are dedicated transports and what are not. The land raider is not and takes up a heavy support slot. *runs to go find codex*

Ok, I was slightly off. The Land Raider can be a dedicated transport for terminators but it still takes up HS slot. I can see where they made the assumption as some of the wording for the rules could be taken out of context.
Cadaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2007, 03:05   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 347
Send a message via MSN to InsanitysFall
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

I think the reason its so confusing is because there is the land raider transport option for the squads.

To me it seems fairly simple that if its listed in the HS section of the codex its obviously a HS slot whether you're using it for transport or not
__________________
InsanitysFall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2007, 20:57   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plymouth UK
Posts: 306
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

I'm pretty sure the rule means this; The land raider will take up a heavy support slot, but because it's a transport it will be deployed in turn with it's squad, and not first as heavy slots usually are. Comprend?
__________________
And they shall know no fear



bluenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jul 2007, 22:39   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

I don't know where you guys are getting this, but if the codex says Termies may select a Land Raider as a transport option, then it's a transport option, not a Heavy Support choice. If I recall correctly, it even says that Land Raiders selected as transport options still count as scoring units because they are such formidable vehicles in their own right. The fact that they are available as heavy support choices just means you may take them as heavy support also. This may seem unfair to you for the reasons InsanitysFall provided, but if an army is fielding three Land Raiders as transport options then to do so they must also have squads attached. With the heavy support slots filled up also, they've committed a hell of a lot of points to only a few units. Count the number of vehicles your opponent fields in this manner, then count the number of AT weapons in your army and you'll soon see that this is no advantage. It'd take a damn fool to entrust the vast majority of his points allocation to only three vehicles and their passengers, even a vehicle as tough as the Land Raider.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jul 2007, 07:17   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Probably at my computer desk right now... <.<
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to titankiller
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

Land Raiders (or Land Raider Crusaders, if you play Black Templars) don&#39;t take up a heavy slot if bought through a transport option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Codex: Space Marines, pg. 35, italicized paragraph at the top of the page
Certain Space Marine units have the option of selecting a transport vehicle. These vehicles do not use up any additional force organization chart selections, but otherwise function as separate units....Land Raiders may be selected by some units as dedicated transports.
And there you have it. If you want, I can get you the page reference for Black Templars as well; says the exact same thing, with exception of "Land Raider" having "Crusader" added on to it.
__________________
titankiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jul 2007, 12:00   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

Quote:
Originally Posted by titankiller
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codex: Space Marines, pg. 35, italicized paragraph at the top of the page
Certain Space Marine units have the option of selecting a transport vehicle. These vehicles do not use up any additional force organization chart selections, but otherwise function as separate units....Land Raiders may be selected by some units as dedicated transports.
And there you have it. If you want, I can get you the page reference for Black Templars as well; says the exact same thing, with exception of "Land Raider" having "Crusader" added on to it.
You know, in spite of the fact that you posted a page number....I still checked my codex because I didn&#39;t believe you. :P

But now that I&#39;ve seen it...Oh, my, oh, my. Does anyone realize the implications of this? Wow. Firstly, of course, you could field 8 landraiders (2 HQ, 3 Elite, 3 Heavy). But, more importantly, the Landraiders selected as transports still count as scoring! Check out that entry on page 35. So you could easily turn 3 Elite scoring units into 6 elite scoring units. Wow, just wow. 8 Landraiders.
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jul 2007, 13:36   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 445
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

Erm, don&#39;t 8 unadorned Landraiders, cost, oh, about 2000 points? 2000 points of Guard Heavy Weapons would eat that for breakfast. Right?

Still, if this was a fething huge battle, I can see where you&#39;re coming from. I, for one, would not bring nothing but Lascannons. Dang, this is like Armored Company... just scarier...
__________________
If you&#39;re feeling lucky, click here to get yourself mugged!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"No, you can&#39;t put a Lascannon there; the Machine God will have a tantrum and turn the universe inside out."

balistafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Jul 2007, 13:52   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: Question about Land Raiders

Yeah, 8 landraiders would be huge points. I guess, I was thinking more of 3 landraiders and 3 whirlwinds...some combination like that. That could be very evil. But enough beardiness. :P
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Land Raiders Sgt.Freak Space Marines 10 08 Jan 2010 03:09
Land raiders? rotwiler Space Marines 25 02 Nov 2009 01:45
Land Raiders and Land Speeders Circus Freak Space Marines 3 14 Nov 2007 15:58
Quick question about land raiders chaos_master Forces of Chaos 9 11 Sep 2007 05:01
Land Raiders Rune Priest Jack Space Marines 111 31 Jan 2006 18:36