Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

A few question from a newbie on selection of weapons for squads.
Old 10 Jun 2007, 19:08   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default A few question from a newbie on selection of weapons for squads.

Hi there folks

I recently bought the "Battle for Macragge" box, and gifted the Space Marines to my brother, that immediately started painting them up. He quickly became interested in the game, and seeing that I'm totally new to 40K (and Warhammer in general) I'm not very able to answer his questions. So I'll ask you veterans here.

A Sergeant for a tactical squad, could you give him two Chainswords (close combat weapons), and would that have any effect.

Can the sergeant be one of the marines to carry the heavy weapon (as I see from the codex that two marines can have a weapon other that their standard bolters).

The combi-weapons mentioned in the codex (pg 22)? Are they included in any box, or do you have to mod them yourself?

He has since then gotten hold of a few other things for his army (I also got him some stuff for his birthday ), so now he has:

20 Tactical Marines (10 from the Battle for Macragge + a Tactical squad box)
5 Devestator marines (Devestator Squad box)
2 Bikes
1 Attack Bike
1 Space Marine Commander
1 Techmarine wt gun servitor

He's decided on painting and fielding them as Ultramarines (as they seem the most "classic")

What would be the next thing to buy to fill out his army?, we're aiming at 1000 points to start with, and I'm collecting Tau myself.

Any answers will be appreciated.

Best
Rune

Nanostorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jun 2007, 19:23   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Default Re: A few question from a newbie on selection of weapons for squads.

First off, welcome to the hobby!