Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Is this legal?!
Reply
Old 19 May 2007, 08:07   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greater London
Posts: 2,065
Send a message via MSN to Commissar_Will
Default Is this legal?!

Okay - in my previous battle, against Khorne, I got my ass whooped. Completely. I don't want to cry cheese, but in retrospect the guy's army choices seem a little odd. He had:

1 Chaos Lord in Termie armour
1 Chaos Sorcerer in Termie armour(with a 4+ invulnerable save and something like 5 wounds)
1 Chosen Terminators squad
1 Havoc squad (With Furious Charge)
2 normal Chaos Marine unit sitting around at the back doing nothing
3 squads of possessed
1 squad of something metal that looked a bit like beastmen, no idea what they were

Every time I played this guy, with my somewhat tank heavy UltraSMurfs, he battered me. And get this - once, in the FIRST TURN, his Havocs destroyed 2 Landspeeders AND a LRC. How does that work? Surely only Tau get to target different things with the same squad in a turn? And another thing - once, just for the hell of it, I decided to throw every single gun in range that was left in my army at his Sorcerer. Bad tactics I know, but I was going to loose anyway...the guy survived

About 14 bolter shots (just out of range for rapid fire)
A missile launcher on krak
A plasma cannon
5 sniper rifles
1 autocannon shot
1 LASCANNON shot
3 Asscannon shots
2 heavy bolter shots

Yeah...this guy just DID NOT DIE!!! He then proceeded to wipe out a sizeable portion of my command squad in CC. And all this killyness in a 1500 point army. Now I'm sorry if this sounds like a rant, and if this list is actually legal then I take it all back, but I just can't see how you can have 4 elites in a 1500 point army, or how a Havoc squad can easily wipe out a full strength assault squad, loosing only 2 men, amongst other things.
__________________
RIP KJ and Israfel. We will remember them.

My Space Marine project log
Commissar_Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2007, 10:37   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dark place
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to erebus Send a message via MSN to erebus Send a message via Yahoo to erebus
Default Re: Is this legal?!

No its not legal, vehicle squadrons(not bikes) upgraded tau and space wolf long fangs are pretty much the only units I can think of who can target more than one thing at a time. Assuming your speeders were bought as a squadron then they'd be fair game, but unless otherwise stated in a special rule(havocs do not have this rule, nor does any mark of chaos as far as I'm aware) all models in a unit must shoot the same target, although its possible for a flame or blast weapon to catch models from units out with the target unit if they're close together.
erebus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2007, 14:26   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brampton Ont. Canada
Posts: 6,441
Default Re: Is this legal?!

I'm also pretty sure he had too many elite choices. I think if they take chosen at all they still use up an elite slot even if they're a retinue. Where's Malveaux when you need him? He seemed to be an expert on that.

Also there's no way he could get 5 wounds on a sorceror, hell if he had a lord he'd have to take essence just to get 3

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch: the noob
Is it just me, or does Fish Ead really love to use a Dreadsock?...
I'd hate to get on his bad side... >
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiwaz
Fishy has just proved to me that Canadians CAN be scary...
Fish Ead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 May 2007, 21:14   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: perth, scotland
Posts: 141
Default Re: Is this legal?!

he was definetly cheating ;D

because of what i can remember possesed are elites and so ar termis so thats 4 elite choices
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
Cheesy? It sounds like a Sisters of Battle porno video!
blackbampot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2007, 00:38   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Probably at my computer desk right now... <.<
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to titankiller
Default Re: Is this legal?!

If the termies are a retinue, then he could play them. However, Havocs and sorcerers can&#39;t be Khorne, nor can Havocs target more than one unit even if he could take them. There is no way for any Chaos model to get 5 wounds that I can see here in my codex. I may be wrong about that, but the most I can see is a Lord with Essence getting 4 wounds. There are only two ways for a CSM to get a 4+ invul, and both of those come from Daemon weapons (Berserker Glaive and Accursed Crozius). I think this is definately a cheater.
__________________
titankiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2007, 09:26   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: From Software.
Posts: 1,266
Default Re: Is this legal?!

It&#39;s possible the Possessed were Bezerkers, But really, You got cheated.
__________________
Krell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2007, 18:21   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 789
Default Re: Is this legal?!

mark of tzeentch gives one extra wound?
__________________
Order of the Purple Angel!!
Pontus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2007, 20:54   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Probably at my computer desk right now... <.<
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to titankiller
Default Re: Is this legal?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pontus
mark of tzeentch gives one extra wound?
That&#39;s to Troop choices only, and even then, he said he was playing Khorne. Definately some cheating going on here.
__________________
titankiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2007, 06:32   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greater London
Posts: 2,065
Send a message via MSN to Commissar_Will
Default Re: Is this legal?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firetruck Of Doom
It&#39;s possible the Possessed were Bezerkers, But really, You got cheated.
Yeah...Bezerkers with tentacles and 2 heads...I think I definitely got duped. Thanks for the replies, and I think I&#39;ll steer clear of the guy in future. Although I did find afterwards that I had accidentally taken his blast templates, so all&#39;s well that ends well.
__________________
RIP KJ and Israfel. We will remember them.

My Space Marine project log
Commissar_Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2007, 17:36   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 125
Default Re: Is this legal?!

Quote:
I did find afterwards that I had accidentally taken his blast templates
accidentally? ;D

anyway, when you find these people, my advice is to avoid them. even if they are a charm to play with. dunno about you, but those who create super-characters AND STILL cheat really get on my nerve.

so, next time I&#39;d have some sort of revenge and then avoid him.

__________________
Angry with GW prices rising? Sign here!
http://www.petitiononline.com/eg126s/petition.html
Montag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DH, WH and IG... is it legal? Jeff The Inquisition 10 01 Nov 2007 12:12
is this legal? biggdawggnt Space Marines 15 20 Jun 2006 19:17
Is this legal? Omen Tau 9 27 May 2006 02:52
Is this Legal?? Morridin19 Tau 11 15 Apr 2006 23:52
This is legal right? SpacePuppy Space Marines 17 24 Mar 2006 20:55