Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Independent Characters & Drop-pods
Reply
Old 07 May 2007, 01:44   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 66
Default Independent Characters & Drop-pods

G'day, me and my buddy are having a discrepancy over a bit of a glitch in the Space Marines Drop-pod rules. I have a character in a Space Marine list of mine, and a squad with a drop-pod. My plan was to put him in the Drop-pod at the start of the game and he would deep-strike with that unit. But he said I couldn't do that. I said you could, as a independent character can go into a dedicated transport as long as he is attached to the squad, but he said the SM codex said otherwise. I said that drop-pods are dedicated transports and he agreed and so I said why not? It degenerated rapidly from there, with me changing my list at the end, but I am desperate for clarification as I really liked the list I made and am seriously considering purchasing it.

Thanks guys!
__________________
"Zeal is its own excuse." -Anon
Deathguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2007, 01:50   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 407
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

It is possible for an IC to be dropped via drop pod IF the reserve rule is in effect. If the pod and the IC come in on the same turn then you can put him in the squad. If you don't have reserve rule then no.
__________________
Brute force ALWAYS works, its just a question of having enough of it!

War is great! Well, except for that dying part ...
BeserkWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2007, 01:58   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dark place
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to erebus Send a message via MSN to erebus Send a message via Yahoo to erebus
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

Actually drop pods can be used in any mission, even those that normally don't use the reserves or deep strike rules.
erebus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2007, 02:33   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brampton Ont. Canada
Posts: 6,441
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

Honestly I don't have a problem with people saying their chaplain is riding in the pod with x unit. It's not like a character wouldn't be able to say "you guys, with me"
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch: the noob
Is it just me, or does Fish Ead really love to use a Dreadsock?...
I'd hate to get on his bad side... >
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiwaz
Fishy has just proved to me that Canadians CAN be scary...
Fish Ead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2007, 05:27   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 407
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

Yes the drop pod can be used in any mission, but without the reserve rules the IC must be deployed on the field. (except possibly if you take termie armor, but I'm not sure if that makes the IC teleport)
__________________
Brute force ALWAYS works, its just a question of having enough of it!

War is great! Well, except for that dying part ...
BeserkWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2007, 11:37   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

Decide weather or not you can. Its a discrepancy in the Marine, and Templar codex's. We just ended up saying that the Emperor's Champion can ride in a Drop Pod, he just gets in before the battle. That was decided by a tourney organizer.
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2007, 17:36   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Westfield, MA
Posts: 236
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

Well remember, unless the IC is in Termie Armor or a Jump pack, he can't even start in reserve as he is classed as infantry. And by RAW he can't even go into reserve with Termie unless you plan on teleporting him in.
__________________

tanarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2007, 21:09   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanarin
Well remember, unless the IC is in Termie Armor or a Jump pack, he can't even start in reserve as he is classed as infantry. And by RAW he can't even go into reserve with Termie unless you plan on teleporting him in.
Which is why you make a house rule for it :P
icer190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 May 2007, 21:32   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 154
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

Just to be a pain in the ...

What happens to lists like Space Wolves where the entire army has to drop pod down?

In the past I've always assigned a Wolf Priest to my Blood Claws before the battle and had him ride it down as a part of the unit. It's silly to assign a single pod to a single character when he could/should ride with a unit.
__________________
Blind Gunn

"It's not my tactics that are bad, just my dice rolling..."
BlindGunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 May 2007, 03:51   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Westfield, MA
Posts: 236
Default Re: Independent Characters & Drop-pods

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlindGunn
Just to be a pain in the ...

What happens to lists like Space Wolves where the entire army has to drop pod down?

In the past I've always assigned a Wolf Priest to my Blood Claws before the battle and had him ride it down as a part of the unit. It's silly to assign a single pod to a single character when he could/should ride with a unit.
Well techenically you can't assign any IC to a squad unless they are already on the table or about to come on the table. Now I don't know Space wolves too well, but unless he can take blood claws as a retenue or has to be attached to a unit, he has to hope he either makes his reserve roll with the Blood claws, or start on the table, as I do know he is infantry and has no special rules allowing him to start in reserve. This assumes that ICs can't take drop pods without a retenue in a SW list as well.
__________________

tanarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Independent characters. frost.mage.mari General 40K 2 30 Nov 2009 02:57
Independent Characters artivis General 40K 4 08 Oct 2009 22:13
Independent Characters Mecha73 Craftworld Eldar 9 25 Jul 2009 18:22
Shrouding and Independent Characters trex238 The Inquisition 4 09 Dec 2008 13:16
Independent Characters Chordelis General 40K 3 30 Jul 2007 05:26