Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Drop pod question
Reply
Old 18 Apr 2007, 02:18   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 119
Default Drop pod question

In the space marine codex it states that a drop pods minimize there distance to troops and impassable terrrain, so it is not destroyed. My question if it lands off the board is it still destroyed?
__________________
"Making no mistakes is what establishes the certainty of victory, for it means conquering an enemy that is already defeated." - Sun Tzu
Rob121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 02:31   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Drop pod question

The rule states specifically that the drop pod does not land in impassable terrain or on troops but not that it is safe from landing off the table. Thus landing off the table edge would mean the loss of the pod and its contents.
__________________



Vash113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 02:34   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Drop pod question

Or even just brushing the edge of the table. The rules are stated to be deliberately harsh in the BGB to discourage table edge hugging.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 02:59   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 119
Default Re: Drop pod question

thank you, i believed that was the case. I was in a battle with my friend and he said that it would not be destroyed, so I just came here for a quick rules clarification.
__________________
"Making no mistakes is what establishes the certainty of victory, for it means conquering an enemy that is already defeated." - Sun Tzu
Rob121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 14:43   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Drop pod question

Question: How exactly do you get the idea that the drop pod can go off the table. The rule in the SM Codex states that if the scatter would take it into immovable terrain (which I assume off the board to be), then reduce the distance by the minimum amount to avoid it. Was there some kind of rule clarifcation later in an FAQ or something that overrides this? I am just curious, since drop pods are commonly used where I play, and we always treated off the board as impassable terrain. If possible, also state where this amendment (if it exists) was stated.

Thank you for your time.
Deius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 14:59   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Drop pod question

The table edge isn't impassable terrain, its the table edge.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 15:23   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plymouth UK
Posts: 306
Default Re: Drop pod question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
The table edge isn't impassable terrain, its the table edge.
I can see Deius point though. If it doesn't say that the drop pod is destroyed if it lands off the table than why should we assume that it is?
__________________
And they shall know no fear



bluenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 15:27   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Drop pod question

Yes it's table edge, but isnt the table edge technically impassable (It's not able to me moved into or through, so how can it not be). I see nothing to state that it doesn't stop as it hits the table edge.
Deius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 15:32   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Great Below
Posts: 990
Default Re: Drop pod question

It's not impassible terrain because once your units hit it in retreat, they're gone. But it would count as a drop pod lost because that's what the table edge is: It's the boundaries of the game. It's an area of the battlefield that is too far away to matter in the currect battle. It's the flurry of other fighting going on around your skirmish. Landing off the table would be the equivalent of a paratrooper misdrop: You're way off target and you don't really know where you are or what you're doing.
SmellTheAshes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2007, 15:36   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Drop pod question

According to the Dark Angels codex (the only relevant one I have on me ATM) Drop pods follow the normal deep strike rules, except for some listed exceptions. There is nothing in that list that prevents them from scattering off the board, and scattering off the board destroys deep strikers as per the deep strike rules.

Just don't try to land withing 12" of a table edge and you'll be fine.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop pod question Mirage Space Marines 3 07 Jun 2010 08:02
Drop Pod Question Hoarday Space Marines 5 23 Jan 2009 06:45
Drop pod Question?? Hyena031 Space Marines 13 07 Nov 2008 12:32
Another Drop Pod Question Invader_Jim Space Marines 5 26 Aug 2006 23:40
Drop pod Question Pirate Space Marines 13 15 Jun 2006 03:13