Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question on BT Vow
Reply
Old 09 Apr 2007, 17:00   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Probably at my computer desk right now... <.<
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to titankiller
Default Question on BT Vow

Ok, in reading through my Codex: Black Templars, I have discovered a question that I need answering. Under the vow "Accept Any Challenge, No Matter The Odds" my units are required to declare charges whenever possible. The Codex reads (direct quote):

Quote:
"Any unit that can declare a charge (ie, has not fired Rapid Fire or Heavy weapons) must do so if they are in range of an enemy unit at the start of their Assault phase."
As such, my question is: does this mean that firing Rapid Fire or Heavy weapons are the only things that prevent me from charging? Going by RAW, thats what it says, but I want other opinions. Thanks in advance.
__________________
titankiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Apr 2007, 17:06   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,815
Send a message via MSN to Munchkin
Default Re: Question on BT Vow

Yes. If you fire your heavy weapons or/and your tapid fire weapons twice you MAY NOT charge. Just in case you were wondering, you can only take one vow per army. This aspect makes the Black Templars more fair, as a &#39;Purge the Unclean&#39; and &#39;Abhor the Witch...&#39; would be unstoppable. Cheers.
__________________

An eye for an eye will make the whole world blind.



Help Support My Humor!
Munchkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Apr 2007, 17:16   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Probably at my computer desk right now... <.<
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to titankiller
Default Re: Question on BT Vow

I know I can only take one vow, and I know these things prevent me from charging. My question is are they the ONLY things that prevent me from doing so? I.E. Am I allowed to charge out of my Rhinos? Again, going by RAW (which is apparently what we&#39;re supposed to do) thats what it says...
__________________
titankiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Apr 2007, 17:17   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,815
Send a message via MSN to Munchkin
Default Re: Question on BT Vow

If there&#39;s no rule against it, no. If you launch them off drop pods you can&#39;t, because the Drop Pods rule states they can&#39;t. Consult your hobby store if you can&#39;t get an answer.
__________________

An eye for an eye will make the whole world blind.



Help Support My Humor!
Munchkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Apr 2007, 17:19   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Question on BT Vow

Except it says "any unit that can declare a charge" if you just disembarked from a rhino that moved, that unit would not be able to charge, and thus would not be forced to charge. It gives the example of having fired heavy or rapid fire weapons but the previous wording already states that the rule only applies to units that could normally declare a charge, and then says that they now must. Even if you would normally not want them too.
__________________



Vash113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Apr 2007, 17:33   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Probably at my computer desk right now... <.<
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to titankiller
Default Re: Question on BT Vow

Okay, but what about this "codex overrides rulebook" deal? The rulebook says you can charge after disembarking unless its open-topped, didn&#39;t move, or its a Land Raider. But if the "codex overrides rulebook" thingy is applied, then it would seem that the only limit is firing with RF or Heavy weapons, because that&#39;s all the codex lists as the limiting factors.
__________________
titankiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Apr 2007, 17:51   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brampton Ont. Canada
Posts: 6,441
Default Re: Question on BT Vow

ie. Simply indicates an example. There is no guarantee that a bracketed "ie" statement is an exhaustive list.

So no charging out of rhinos
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch: the noob
Is it just me, or does Fish Ead really love to use a Dreadsock?...
I&#039;d hate to get on his bad side... &gt;
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiwaz
Fishy has just proved to me that Canadians CAN be scary...
Fish Ead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Apr 2007, 18:14   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 407
Default Re: Question on BT Vow

A better way to put this in comparison is to Blood Claws who are also required to charge whenever possible. However, in the Blood Claw entry it says if you would be in charge range you don&#39;t have the option to rapid fire at all and must charge. So essentially the vow is giving you some flexibility to avoid charging if you don&#39;t want to and have the weapons available. It doesn&#39;t allow you to charge when you can&#39;t legally charge in the first place.
__________________
Brute force ALWAYS works, its just a question of having enough of it!

War is great! Well, except for that dying part ...
BeserkWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Apr 2007, 19:34   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Probably at my computer desk right now... <.<
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to titankiller
Default Re: Question on BT Vow

Alright, cool. Just wanted to make sure I don&#39;t end up screwing someone over by doing that. Thanks guys! ;D
__________________
titankiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 00:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34