Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Black Templars Qn A
Closed Thread
Old 15 Nov 2006, 05:01   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default Black Templars Qn A

Do I understand the Suffer not the unclean to live vow correctly for black templars? Correct me if I'm wrong but does this mean in close combat you can raise a Bt's strength to 7 by dropping his initiative to 1? And pics for any who are interested And can anybody report on success with chapter banners with BTs
Aun Tai is offline  
Old 15 Nov 2006, 11:44   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

It means that yes, the Emperor's Champion and Dreadnaughts w/ out the DNCC arm will have strength 7, whereas your regular marines, and your commanders will have 5. Neophytes stay at 4.

I've never used a chapter banner, quite simply because I never have the points, that and I prefer to use the Holy Orbs.
icer190 is offline  
Old 15 Nov 2006, 17:17   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

in the codex it states to a minimum of 1, meaning you can drop them to an initiative of 1, it doesn't say you can only drop their initiative once.
Aun Tai is offline  
Old 15 Nov 2006, 20:57   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aun Mike
in the codex it states to a minimum of 1, meaning you can drop them to an initiative of 1, it doesn't say you can only drop their initiative once.
+1 strength -1 initiative is what you get with said vow.
icer190 is offline  
Old 16 Nov 2006, 02:10   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

"When rolling to wound in close combat the black templars add +1 to their strength. It takes time for them to summon their holy strength, so they strike at -1 to their initiative (to a minimum of 1). Dreadnoughts in the Army are bound by this vow, but neophytes are not. When rolling for a sweeping advance, the Black Templars use their normal initiative value. This strength bonus is not cumulative with that conferred by the Furious Charge veteran skill." Like I said they would say you can only drop their initiative once, not say to a minimum of one, what else would it leave me to believe.
Aun Tai is offline  
Old 16 Nov 2006, 02:20   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 930
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

It says "+1", not "+2", not "+3", just "+1". It's said because if you used it with a power fist (to S9), you wouldn't drop to I0.
__________________


"In the nightmare future of the far future there is only war." - Apocalypse
O Y Montyr is offline  
Old 16 Nov 2006, 05:07   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

well that makes sense although the maximum strength anything can be is ten, I showed the staff at GW this rule and they agreed with me. If I can play that way there, it should be acceptable anywhere, all of them agreed not just one red shirt but 8. So where did you guys get your info, and what's the number to the direct rules hotline? I definitely need to know the absolute truth before I can , I really dont mean to argue with my fellow BT commanders, but I must get to the bottom of this: so here's what I'll do if you are in favor of initiative 1 strength 7 initates, say AYE!
If you are in favor of +1 strength and -1 initiative initiates say NAY! WHAT SAYS THIS COUNCEL

Good Hunting
Aun Tai is offline  
Old 16 Nov 2006, 06:19   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6,716
Send a message via MSN to Spiritbw
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

Well, my two cents would say it's +1 max with -1 max with absolute lowest Initative of 1. I think that was how it was intended to be worded as well. The other way makes the rule a bit strong I would think. Normal troops able to damage anything short of a landraider? With thier CCWs? No, I don't think so.....
Spiritbw is offline  
Old 16 Nov 2006, 11:45   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,961
Send a message via MSN to icer190
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

I have to agree with Spirit on that one, it would be WAY to over powered if you could do that. You'd be instakilling IG Commanders that way.
icer190 is offline  
Old 17 Nov 2006, 22:34   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: Black Templars Qn A

Thank you , you have brought light to a fledgling Marshall... Thanks guys
Aun Tai is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questiong on painting black templars (and black armor)... sionnach19 Painting 10 28 Jun 2008 00:22
black templars Apocalyptic Showcase 68 08 Apr 2007 10:17
My WIP Black Templars HQ Munchkin Conversion 4 16 Mar 2007 10:14
Black Templars General Stupidity Space Marines 2 13 Aug 2006 20:10
Black Templars XV15 Stealthsuit Space Marines 1 05 Sep 2005 22:31