Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Newbie looking for help
Closed Thread
Old 01 Oct 2006, 03:27   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Newbie looking for help

Hello everyone, I'm completely new to the whole 40k game, and tabletop miniature gaming in general. My friend and I recently decided to enter into the game and purchased the Battle for Maccragge set (the rule book being the prime incentive). I decided to start collecting the Marines, while he chose the Tyranids.

We haven't yet painted our new little men, or really done much besides cut them out roughly (still need filing) and put them together. We ran through a few random battles, straight ones, just to get a feel for the actual rules (we didn't want to go through the scenarios listed in the set, we may do those later though). I originally thought that I would have to buy every model as i wanted it, and no changes could be made, then i was introduced to the wargear section of the codex, and its getting a little blurry.

What I'm wondering primarily is what sort of models are required, and can't simply be substituted, and how this sort of thing will be handled in a more constructed setting (for example, a tournament or the like). For example, what is the standard regarding letting your opponent know such options, for example, what type of librarian you are using. Just how far does this extend? (For example, Librarian in Termie armor and a storm bolter came in a blister... Could I declare him an Epistolary or a codicier? and can i declare the weapon is something besides a storm bolter?)

I read in one thread here or another, someone giving tips on converting a rhino or some other transport into an offensive tank, is this generally accepted, and if so, does this hold true for GW sanctioned events?