Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Teleporting Terminators with a transport option
Closed Thread
Old 23 Jul 2006, 23:13   #1 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Teleporting Terminators with a transport option

The codex tells us a Space Marine Veteran Squad may only take the 'Infiltrate' special skill if they have not selected a transport option, I assume this is mostly for fluff reasons (vehicles are not very steathy), but Terminator squads have no such restrictions pertaining to deep-striking via teleportation.

Obviously you can't teleport a Land Raider, although I would have thought you could with a big enough teleportation chamber (you know; if they can teleport something as complex as a human being...), but are we to understand a Land Raider varient transport option can move onto the table from reserves simultaneously to the Terminator's arrival? It could be assumed that the vehicle is being sent forwards to retrieve the Terminators once they have dispensed whatever mayhem they see fit.

I only ask because I am always keen to field my Prometheus, but I don't necessarily want to stuff it chock full of Termintors...often, I'd rather teleport.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline  
Old 24 Jul 2006, 11:38   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Coloma
Posts: 1,463
Default Re: Teleporting Terminators with a transport option

page 81 paragraph 1 of the bgb states:

Quote:
when deploying a single chart choice, the units that make up that choice may deploy separately from one another if you wish. When a single chart choice arrives from reserves, the units may similarly arrive separately from one another. Thus a squad does not have to arrive in its transport vehicle if you do not wish it to.
that pretty much tells me that if you want to buy the prometheus, but you don't want to deploy your term. command with it, then you don't have to. This is also the rule that lets tyranid zoanthropes and tau snipers (I think) deploy away from each other even though they are bought in the same unit.
__________________
To blindly follow others is to live the life of a lemming. Be yourself, no matter what others may say.
Howloutloud is offline  
Old 24 Jul 2006, 15:51   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: Teleporting Terminators with a transport option

Perfect, thanks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick GK Teleporting question icer190 The Inquisition 3 16 Jan 2010 13:13
Troop Transport Option Question? Hyena031 Space Marines 3 11 Jun 2007 21:21
Drop pod classification - 'Transport option' or not? Tom Norman Space Marines 18 14 Aug 2006 19:10
Teleporting Terminators Terminatus Space Marines 9 29 Jul 2006 04:09
Teleporting Deamon Princes Orion Forces of Chaos 9 17 Feb 2005 14:17