Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Help choose a chapter
Closed Thread
Old 22 Jun 2006, 07:27   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Help choose a chapter

Hey guys,
I have been playing marines for 5+ years, and I am about to start a new army, the army theme is speed, so the question is, do I go for a DA ravenwing army or a white scars force? Because I am not sure, any help will be much appreciated
Thanx
Old 22 Jun 2006, 08:21   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Re: Help choose a chapter

Ravenguard

nothing beats the jumpfreaks for sheer speed of deployment and maneuverability.
Old 22 Jun 2006, 08:37   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El

You have got three most likely options:

* Ravenguard
* Ravenwing
* White Scars

Are you looking for lots of assault squads? then go for the Ravenguard.
Are you looking for Dark armoured bikes and speeders? Then go for the Ravenwing.
Are you looking for White armoured bikes and speeders? Then go for the White Scars.

Pick up your Codexes and look through all their rules and find out which ones appeal to you most.
Also think which colour scheme you can paint the best and keep up to finish your army.
Old 22 Jun 2006, 10:09   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Well I already have a Ravenguard force, so they are out. I know the Ravenwing rules, and I have acess to the Index Astartes article on the white Scars, and I really like them, but I also really like the DA dark and gothic feeling. Anyone else got any suggestions that may help?
-Thanks Tharasiph and Stam, for the help so far
Old 22 Jun 2006, 11:38   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O

Of the two you mentioned, I don't really think there's that much difference, they're both fast. Although I think collecting Ravenwing would mean fielding more Land Speeders. In terms of battlefield effectiveness as a fast moving army, I think they're more or less equal. What should really sway you is their fluff and the way they look.