Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

HQ Rules clarification
Closed Thread
Old 21 Jan 2006, 11:10   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default HQ Rules clarification

I am in the process of creating a new Deathwing with plastic terminators. I have a MotDW w/SoS and want to add both a Librarian and Chaplain.

Is it legal for me to field my Librarian as part of my HQ squad attached to MotDW then use my Chaplain as my second HQ choice in independent character mode?

I believe this is legal according to the SM Codex. I don't care about cheesiness, the DW will always be outgunned and outnumbered, so this configuration may level the playing field a smidge.

Thx.
Fulminata is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 13:20   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern Georgia
Posts: 218
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

It's legal so long as you have a command squad. The Chappy is basicly just treated as a expensive specialist. Enjoy
__________________
Also, after the game, find his mini case and dump the contents into a grinder/shredder and then put what's left into a shaker. It goes great on pasta, pizza, nachos, etc., just like all other forms of cheese. - xShaperx
Morgue is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 18:47   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 504
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

You should maybe use the Chappy as the attached Charact, as he'll allow to reroll to pesky misses with the SoS___unless you're planing to field a Libby with Might of Heroes.
citizen_kodo is offline  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 18:55   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

That was my plan for the Librarian, but as a back-up I would also attach the Chaplain to the Command Squad if he is not running around by himself. I plan on building an assault squad the Chaplain could attach to himself to to create two close combat squads. But that is a while off. Thx.
Fulminata is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2006, 09:43   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

I'm sure that's not legal. Would I be far off the mark in assuming MotDW stands for Master of the Deathwing? A Master or a Captain is an HQ choice, as is a Librarian and a Chaplain. As you know, you're only allowed two HQ choices per 2000 points. In the Space Marine codex, you can't attach librarians to command squads; the specialists are defined. So is this a Deathwing thing? Have they got some cool exception to the normal rules? How many independant characters can you put in one squad?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2006, 15:54   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

Actually Tom you can attach either a single Librian and a Single Chaplain to any Space Marine command squad. The attached characters cannot leave the command squad unless its wiped out. The command squad counts as one HQ and can have up to three Space Marine characters attached!

So with only 2 HQ choices you COULD have 6 characters!!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2006, 16:59   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 937
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

That's just a really expensive way to flex your muscles IMO. But, I would probably shiver myself to see someone put 1000 pts into a command squad.
Frogger is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2006, 17:06   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hertford, UK
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
Actually Tom you can attach either a single Librian and a Single Chaplain to any Space Marine command squad. The attached characters cannot leave the command squad unless its wiped out. The command squad counts as one HQ and can have up to three Space Marine characters attached!

So with only 2 HQ choices you COULD have 6 characters!!!
Where can I find this rule? Those characters can be taken as seperate HQ choices. They can join squads, but where does it say they can be taken as part of it? Please don't say "In the Space Marine Codex"; I'm looking for something more specific than that .

The Command squad entry says you can "take a Command squad to accompany a Commander, Librarian or Chaplain", but the key word here is 'OR'. You can't take more than one in the command squad as far as I can see. Please explain. I'd love to be able to fit a valuable Chaplain into my Terminator command squad without sacrificing my Captain (I just love the paint work).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel_Sanders
When all was finished, the battlefield was a smoking crater. UDC, Valoran, US Army, Tau, the Nazis, a random pirate ship, and a bunch of ninjas, all were enemies to the Vulture. All were turned into scrap metal. Or plastic. Depends which game system you play.
Tom Norman is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2006, 17:27   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

It's in the space marine codex.

I'm joking (though it is).

More specificaly its on the page of Space marine special rules, just before the army list.

I don't have the codex on me at the moment so I can't give you an exact page number but its the same page that has the rules for drop pods on it.

Also I'm talking about the most recent codex, with Marneus Calgar on the cover.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline  
Old 23 Jan 2006, 20:19   #10 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: HQ Rules clarification

Note that no such rule exists in the DA Codex, so if you try that with Deathwing, it's illegal.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help with some rules clarification. Watchdog General 40K 3 22 Feb 2009 20:32
rules clarification please: Guitardian Imperial Guard 10 03 Sep 2007 04:43
40K rules clarification Diavolos1981 General 40K 6 24 Apr 2007 16:06
Tau rules clarification Diavolos1981 Tau 5 12 Apr 2007 04:16
Rules clarification from GW Ketter Tau 8 01 Nov 2006 22:48