Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

troop tactics
Closed Thread
Old 16 Dec 2005, 19:46   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default troop tactics

i am new to space marines after finishing a 1000pt. tau army. I would really like help on some good tactics for an almost entirely troop army, i am buying the megaforce and making an army out of that. I made my own chapter with TYBB and see but dont be seen and as a drawback i have flesh over steel (blood ravens basically but i made new fluff and a new army name etc.)

I will be facing alot of tau and I would like some good anti-tyranid tactics as well!
Old 18 Dec 2005, 18:45   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Send a message via AIM to SMRCommander
Default Re: troop tactics

Well, do you want an Assaulty army? A shooty one? Static? Mobile as heck? Give me some details of what type of army you want and I'll help.

As for anti-tyranid and Tau tactics...I can help.

Tau

I actually do have some experienve here, as every battle I've fought included them! Some things to keep in mind:

1)The Tau's main gun (as you should shurely know) is better than marines. It has improved strength and range. But don't be afraid of it-usually 1 out of ten shots actually kills a marine. Don't be careless, but do not fear the Ta Firewarriors. Tie them up in combat with a fast moving Assault Squad, and they'll be destroyed while tying up there guns.

2)Crisis Suits and Hammerheads will be your main worries. Crisis Suits can easily outmanouver your basic troops. But again, Assault Squads are a key unit. Being able to move 12" and assault 6", they will be able to catch those pesky Crisis Suits. The Crisis Suits, as I've found, usually hit-and-run your forces, and target your light armored vheicles, such as rhinos. Besides attacking them with Assault Squads, you can flank them. If you attack from two sides, they'll have no place to go safe, and on of the units will get him.