Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

13th Company
Closed Thread
Old 20 Oct 2005, 21:16   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default 13th Company

I've searched the forum for 13th company lists, tactics or players and I've found very little. So here is my own thread.

Anyone who plays 13th company out there, what are some of your common HQ setups? 1500 point armies? 2000 point armies? I'm all ears. I'm very new to marines in general, and even newer to space wolves or their variants. I'm thinking of specifically developing a 13th company army. They seem less like invincible supermen than their parent codex.

Join the arena, and succumb to the eternal lust!
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=9054.0
Old 21 Oct 2005, 11:00   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Re: 13th Company

ok, a basic run-down on what i think is worth-while...long fangs are almost crucial. they aren't massively survivable, tho, so i recommend 2 smaller squads over one larger one (2 squads of 3, each with 2 missile launchers. cheap, effective, twice as survivable)

wulfen: absolutely brutal, against power armou or non-power armour. their heavily boosted stats really make a difference in close combat (famous last words against these guys: well, i wasn't expecting THAT. expect to hear those words a lot ), despite their lack of power weapons. tho if you take them, i'd really recommend a wolf priest, ideally with herbs and balms

don't go overboard with mark of the wulfen. it really does eat up a lot of point. i'd resitrict it to things like storm claws and characters

grey slayers: don't get too few of these guys, but don't load yourself up on 'em either. its a fine balance

fenrisian wolves: IMO not all that great, unless you're running a biker-heavy army

as for the list i use:

wolf lord, MotW, frost blade, bolt pistol, wolf pelt
wolf priest, pelt

8 claws including leader with MotW, pelt, lightning claws, 2 power fists