Warhammer 40K Forum

[Batrep]: Marines vs. Tyranids 400 point combat patrol
Old 21 May 2007, 15:57   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default [Batrep]: Marines vs. Tyranids 400 point combat patrol

well, not exactly 400 points :

played on a 4x4 board, desert terrain.

Me: Calignosis Proles
Chaplain with jump pack, bolt pistol and power weapon.

6x assault marines
Jump packs, 1x power fist, 1x plasma pistol

10x tactical marines
1x flamer

Him: Tyranids
4x warriors
VC/ST; 2x DS/ST
+WS, +Str, +BS, +SV

14x Fleshgaunts
+Str

6x genestealers
+SV

he was a total newb to the tyranids, fairly new to the game. I did give him some advice (in other words, built his list) and told him that one of the best ways for him to win was to try to break my army up, focus as much as he can on a single unit with as much of his army.

Setup:
Hill on right, Palm trees in middle, small pond next to it, hut on near right corner. More stuff on his side, but it was inconsequential, because he moved away from it all in the opening turns.

my assault unit is behind the hut, my marines are behind the pond.
his warriors are on my right, gaunts in the middle, stealers on the left, but all focused in the center.

game begins:
~his turn, he moves forward, has no LOS
~my turn, I move the tac squad left, (more behind the lake) the assault squad up a little.
~his turn, he moves the stealers into the forest, the gaunts move to screen the warriors from the assault squad. warriors draw a bead on my tac squad and cause no wounds.
~my turn, I move the assault squad back about 6", trying to get an optimal range for their next turn. I pelt the stealers in the woods with sporadic shots, no wounds.
~his turn gets a terrible roll for genestealers to escape the woods. gaunts move forward again, still out of range of assault squad. warriors shoot a little more, cause one marine to fall over.