Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tech Army
Closed Thread
Old 04 Dec 2006, 07:40   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Tech Army

Hey Dudes, I'm quite new to the Hobby and I'm collecting Eldar (what a surprise :) as we speak, but I'm allready planning my next army* :-\

I've just read through the Space Marines Erreta and have found that I can feild an Army with 6 dreds. What I'm planning is to do a Skitari (sp?) type army and have come up with this

Chaplin as a Leader, converted from a Tech Marine Model.

3 Venrable Dreads for Elites

Scouts for troops

3 Dreads for Heavy

Just wondering if you guys have any thoughts or tips about this!
Old 04 Dec 2006, 14:31   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Send a message via MSN to Spiritbw
Default Re: Tech Army

Berfore you go planning a list, I suggest you get the Space Marine codex or have a flip through one. There are two reasons I say this.

1.) There is a trait that let's you take tehcmarines as HQs.
2.) Dreadnaughts are Elites.

Once you have read/bought the codex then it might be an idea to making a list and we can help fine tune it with you.
Old 04 Dec 2006, 14:49   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal

Send a message via MSN to Scout Sergeant Mkoll

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritbw
2.) Dreadnaughts are Elites.
However with a trait, Heed the Wisdom of the Ancients I think, it is possible to take 6 Dreadnaughts, 3 as Elite and 3 as Heavy Support, as long as the 3 Elites are venerable.

This isn't a bad choice of army as it makes you very difficult to harm, small-arms fire becomes virtually useless and with, say 2/3 Techmarines you can repair most damage to your Dreads quite easily.

However, bear in mind the fact that lascannons and similar heavy weapons, as well as certain combat squads, will make short work of this army.

As a result I would recommend some Terminators as a back-up and a devastator squad to deal as much damage to said combat squads as is physically possible.