Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
Closed Thread
Old 26 Mar 2005, 23:16   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!

First of all, my apologies if this is off-topic--this is the only "showcase" forum here I could find to post general pictures of miniatures, and I wasn't sure if pictures were ok in the "other games" section. If this belongs somewhere else, please feel free to move it and tell me where.

I'm a complete newbie to miniature wargaming, and haven't modeled or painted in something like 20 years. So before I started messing up my brand new boxes of Tau, I asked a friend of mine who runs tabletop RPGs if I could practice on some of the random unpainted minis he has knocking around in a shoebox. He handed me some old Ral Partha metal monster, and told me to go to town.

I'd already painted a few Skaven that I had sitting around for practice, but I wasn't really enjoying painting them for one reason or another. So I gave it a shot. Comments and criticism welcome, though please keep in mind this is only my third miniature--I've read a lot of tutorials and sites about painting, but putting all that knowledge into practice, I'm finding, is something else entirely.

http://ayashi.net/foo/jwock-front.jpg
http://ayashi.net/foo/jwock-side.jpg
http://ayashi.net/foo/jwock-back.jpg
http://ayashi.net/foo/jwock-face.jpg
http://ayashi.net/foo/jwock-scales.jpg

Some problems I know about: there's "frosting" in some places because I sprayed on the varnish too heavily. There's a few pieces of flock stuck to the model that I missed on visual inspection and that got varnished on; I only noticed them after looking at the pictures I took. I missed some spots on painting the base.