Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tau Firewarriors Help
Old 26 Jan 2007, 18:40   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Tau Firewarriors Help

Hey Guys,

I wanted to get some help to see whether the steps list that I came up with is a good idea or not. The look I am going for is Crusdaer-like, specifically, Knights of the Templar: red, white, silver, black.

I did about two sets of FWs and I hate them, mainly because this is my first time painting and everything is chunky, so I think I am going to strip them and start all over. As far as colors go, the Tau emblem will be silver, all cloth, helmet, and the shoulder pad will be blood red (the pad being red contrasts better with a silver emblem than white), and the armor plates will be white.

I've been reading the Citadel How to Paint guide, and I am not sure whether to start with a black or white undercoat. I am thinking white because the armor plates are white and are the hardest to paint, especially since white always looks like toothpaste, but here are the steps that I made for a Tau Firewarrior using the Eldar and Blood Angel examples in the book.
  • Black undercoat, since this is used for both models and will leave all the creaveses black. Dry.
  • 1:1 Blood Red/Skull White on all cloth, helmet, and shoulder pad, except Tau emblem. This is too lighten up the black and to prevent the blood red from looking brown. Overbrush the shoulderpad. This should be pink in color. Dry.
  • Fortress Grey over all areas that will be white (armor). This is to lighten the black and to make the corners darker than the applied white will be later. I assume overbrushing would be the best way to do this while keeping the creveses black. Dry.
  • Cover pink areas with Blood Red. Dry.
  • Boots and backpack painted Chaos Black. Dry.
  • With 1:1 Chestnut/Red Ink, cover clothing portions to fill creveses and to make the ripples in cloth stand out. Dry.