Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

How can I improve?
Old 23 Jan 2007, 14:51   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default How can I improve?

Obviously practice, but I want to be able to do highlights, details etc. I'm usually too scared to, or don't have enough paints.
GIBBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2007, 16:10   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Re: How can I improve?

You really just have to experiment. I'm a novice painter and I try and read up on techniques and styles that are posted here or elsewhere, but what it's really coming down to for me is just trying it out. It's just a matter of what works for you, not what works for someone else. I learned that tips and advice are just that, something to be taken into consideration but not an end-all-be-all method.

I'm an Ork player, so it's pretty easy for me to experiment since I have so many models to experiment on, might not be the case for you. What I do try and do though is pick one model and use that as my test model to try out new techniques. If I know I want to work on my rust effect then I'll try that on the model, or if I want to work on dry brushing then I use that same model for that too. I of course try and do the best I can but I've also resolved myself to the fact that it is a learning experience and even if it doesn't come out perfect it's ok, I learned and I still use him despite not having the greatest paint job.

So my advice, don't be afraid to try out new stuff, just go for it. If it comes out not as you'd hoped then repaint it if you like. As long as your paints are thin enough then you shouldn't have a problem going over and fixing up those areas that weren't right.
Old 23 Jan 2007, 17:35   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

The first thing you need to do is pay a visit to your local GW, if at all possible.