Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Inks
Closed Thread
Old 09 Jan 2007, 16:50   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Inks

I'm relatively new to painting and I've read a lot of great tips and techniques but I'm still left wondering something that I know is a matter of personal preference, but any input would be appreciated. I've been using inks in my painting process and my question is, what do you use inks for typically? By that I mean, is there some items you never ink, recommend not inking, or do you suggest inking everything?

I'm trying to work out my process and get a solid technique for myself but I'm really just not sure the best use of inks. They seem a great thing to use on any item really but I'm sure there are things that are best not inked and so I'm just kind of looking for some personal preferences of those who are far better at painting then I am.

Hopefully this makes sense, just finding it hard to word my thoughts. Oh, and I'm painting an Ork army for the record with a lot of blacks, browns, and reds mostly.
Old 09 Jan 2007, 17:23   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Default Re: Inks

i like using ink, especially on Tyranids detailing. it works wonders!.

on kroot skin it works good too!. and i like using it on my blue eldar armour. it gives a deep blue shade.
Old 09 Jan 2007, 19:43   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O

I use inks pretty rarely on my tau, but Chestnut Ink is one of my favorite paint/inks. It looks good on anything; paint it on armor and it looks rusted, paint it on wood and it looks polished...it's a great addition. I paint it on my red gems to make them shine also (instead of varnish - ink brings out color that I like)
But being a mostly tau player I haven't used 'em much, since they're mostly used for skin.
Old 10 Jan 2007, 20:58   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El

I picked up some Chestnut a few weeks ago and I agree it's a great ink to have on hand for the reasons you mentioned. Thanks for the replies so far.