Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tankhammer Questions
Reply
Old 15 Mar 2010, 17:28   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eastern Fringe
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to Colonel Marksman
Default Tankhammer Questions

I haven't seen any Ork army lists with a Nob armed with a Tankhammer, only the Power Klaw. So I was unsure if he can even take one. Can he? (You might be asking, "Why on earth?" but I don't have the points, and I'd rather have a Tankhammer with 3 attacks than 2).


Secondly, is the Tankhammer just Str:10? It strikes at normal Initiative but isn't a Power Weapon, correct?
__________________
If the Eldar see battle as a symphony,
Then the Elati have mastered a solo piece,
Of every instrument.


Games in the Past Month:
Tau: W-1, T-0, L-1
Witch H: W-0, T-0, L-0
Eldar: W-2, T-0, L-1
Guard: W-0, T-0, L-0
Other: W-2, T-1, L-0
Colonel Marksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 18:47   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to razgriz_cipher
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

The nob cannot take a tankhammer only tankbustas. Yeah it does not ignore armor saves.

Great now I thought of nob bikers with tankhammers.... :P
__________________
Quote:
<Wargamer[TO]> - I figure it should go boom by spirit of the rules
razgriz_cipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 19:02   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

It would make the Big Choppa superfluous for Nobs, since that ends up being a Strength 6 or 7 non-power weapon striking at Initiative. Tankbustas have other limitations to make up for it.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 20:00   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eastern Fringe
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to Colonel Marksman
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanaris
It would make the Big Choppa superfluous for Nobs, since that ends up being a Strength 6 or 7 non-power weapon striking at Initiative. Tankbustas have other limitations to make up for it.
I guess I don't understand what you're saying. The Tankbusta Nob can't take a Big Choppa, and his Power Klaw is at a 10-point discount compared to the other units. That was one of the reasons I thought maybe he could take a Tankhammer. That or I guess the Rokkit Launcha with the extra cost (10 points usually) would make the upgrade of 25 points more expensive.
__________________
If the Eldar see battle as a symphony,
Then the Elati have mastered a solo piece,
Of every instrument.


Games in the Past Month:
Tau: W-1, T-0, L-1
Witch H: W-0, T-0, L-0
Eldar: W-2, T-0, L-1
Guard: W-0, T-0, L-0
Other: W-2, T-1, L-0
Colonel Marksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 23:02   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9,814
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel Marksman
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khanaris
It would make the Big Choppa superfluous for Nobs, since that ends up being a Strength 6 or 7 non-power weapon striking at Initiative. Tankbustas have other limitations to make up for it.
I guess I don't understand what you're saying. The Tankbusta Nob can't take a Big Choppa, and his Power Klaw is at a 10-point discount compared to the other units. That was one of the reasons I thought maybe he could take a Tankhammer. That or I guess the Rokkit Launcha with the extra cost (10 points usually) would make the upgrade of 25 points more expensive.
He responded that way because you didn't specify a Tankbubusta Nob in your first post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel Marksman
I haven't seen any Ork army lists with a Nob armed with a Tankhammer, only the Power Klaw. So I was unsure if he can even take one. Can he? (You might be asking, "Why on earth?" but I don't have the points, and I'd rather have a Tankhammer with 3 attacks than 2).
You just said "Nob". :P

Because of this Khan (rightly) responded that if it were possible (for normal Nobs) that there would be no point to Big Choppas since the two functions are the same aside from the resulting end strength of the hammer being greater.
__________________


Seventh Sanctum signature oddities.
Alignment: Neutral Pessimistic
Area of Magical Study: Practical Chronomancy
Favorite Spells: Divine Spell of the Cotton Candy Golem and Field of Bacon.

Proud supporter of Joe Wood!

Makes this your one good deed a day.
http://www.thehungersite.com/
enderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 23:27   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eastern Fringe
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to Colonel Marksman
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

There's only one unit in the game that can take a Tankhammer, which would be the Tankbustas, which would automatically mean there's only 1 Nob that might have access to one, the Tankbusta's Nob. I figured it was obvious enough.

So can the Tankbusta's Nob come equipped with a Tankhammer?
__________________
If the Eldar see battle as a symphony,
Then the Elati have mastered a solo piece,
Of every instrument.


Games in the Past Month:
Tau: W-1, T-0, L-1
Witch H: W-0, T-0, L-0
Eldar: W-2, T-0, L-1
Guard: W-0, T-0, L-0
Other: W-2, T-1, L-0
Colonel Marksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Mar 2010, 04:08   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

Yes, he can. Orks can take weapons in any order they want, so a tankbusta swaps his rokkit for a tankhammer and then becomes a nob. It strikes at inititive and is base strength 10 non-power weapon. My unit has two tankbustas with tankhammers and the nob with a power claw, cause I figure the more high strength weapons around the better chance to pop a tank.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Mar 2010, 20:19   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eastern Fringe
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to Colonel Marksman
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoutfox
Yes, he can. Orks can take weapons in any order they want, so a tankbusta swaps his rokkit for a tankhammer and then becomes a nob. It strikes at inititive and is base strength 10 non-power weapon. My unit has two tankbustas with tankhammers and the nob with a power claw, cause I figure the more high strength weapons around the better chance to pop a tank.
Sure, but don't forget, someone described that a power klaw is a poor choice in a Tankbusta unit because the Tankhammers (6 attacks in themselves) and Tankbusta Bombs will all get to strike before the Power Klaw (a fairly expensive upgrade) gets to swing, if somehow everything else fails. Based on that, I only see a Power Klaw useful if you plan on getting into combat with infantry models too.
__________________
If the Eldar see battle as a symphony,
Then the Elati have mastered a solo piece,
Of every instrument.


Games in the Past Month:
Tau: W-1, T-0, L-1
Witch H: W-0, T-0, L-0
Eldar: W-2, T-0, L-1
Guard: W-0, T-0, L-0
Other: W-2, T-1, L-0
Colonel Marksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Mar 2010, 20:28   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

The difference from the Tankhammer and the Powerclaw is that the Powerclaw is actually quite useful outside of hammering tanks :P
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Mar 2010, 23:16   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Tankhammer Questions

Tankbustas are great at taking down monstrous creatures, so I use them in close combat all the time, or against walkers. If the tankhammers don't do the trick I still want my power claw there to make sure. Plus it goes through FNP and armor.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eldar FAQ and Rules Questions. Ask all Rules Questions HERE. sinfox Craftworld Eldar 181 30 Jul 2008 15:52
New to tau, Bunch of questions to help me before my first games, questions added Ekiel Tau 15 03 Jun 2008 01:05
Markerlight questions. NEW QUESTIONS! The_Greater_Good Tau 12 06 Dec 2006 06:27
Few Questions. Skell Necrons 9 25 Aug 2006 20:19
Tau Questions vonzipper98 Tau 9 21 Nov 2005 20:37