Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault
Reply
Old 14 Mar 2010, 08:35   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia & Singapore
Posts: 460
Default Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

Out of curiosity, me and Tetrino were discussing about a scenario where my Big Mek and his KFF gave out cover saves to 6" around him, and there was a Deff Dread within the KFF. So being in KFF means the walker is obscured.

Now, say a group of Genestealers came and assault the walker, does that technically mean the Genestealers are assaulting in cover? Losing their initiative basically?

Fluffwise, I think it's like assaulting head on into a bubble of force field, that might disorient the assaulter.

The argument was, as long as you can take cover saves, you are technically in cover.

Can anyone clarify this?
__________________
"Failure is a weakness of the enemy."
Dobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 08:38   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

The cover saves have nothing to do with it in 5th. The only time an attacking unit will get an Initiative penalty is if it has to move through difficult or dangerous terrain during the assault move. There are a few other ways to get cover saves that don't involve terrain, but none of them influence close combat.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 08:42   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

By RAW, the change in initiative for assaulting through cover occurs if the assaulters have to make a difficult or dangerous terrain test on the way in. I think the Adepticon INAT FAQ has ruled that the rule also takes effect when assaulting a unit under Tau stealth field, but I don't know about KFF. Unless there is an FAQ or house rule that says otherwise, I would say that they do NOT have their initiative changed.

ninja'd, I have been!
knightperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 12:26   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

The entry grants a cover save to infantry and obscured to vehicles. It does not say the units within 6" are treated as being in cover, it simple says they get a cover save. Also, the entry specifically says it has no effect on assault.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 13:16   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Malaysia & Singapore
Posts: 460
Default Re: Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

Alright, thanks for clearing this up, you may lock this thread if you wish.
__________________
"Failure is a weakness of the enemy."
Dobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 13:17   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 93
Default Re: Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

Ah, that's a shame. It's kind of funny, because I'd imagine that running headfirst into a force field would pretty much ruin your initiative.
Tetrino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 14:26   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,629
Send a message via MSN to Lord Zambia
Default Re: Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetrino
Ah, that's a shame. It's kind of funny, because I'd imagine that running headfirst into a force field would pretty much ruin your initiative.
Sigged =)
__________________
Learn about the world from a different prospective - www.uncyclopedia.org

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhontauel
4 lightening claws LMAO. wouldn't the inquisition get involved?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedibean
Killing terminators with flamers is like trying to stop a charging elephant with a fly swatter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genmotty
if your not going to change your ammo between battles then you deserve to be giving people rashes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetrino
Ah, that's a shame. It's kind of funny, because I'd imagine that running headfirst into a force field would pretty much ruin your initiative.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire at Will
Why not take over France? You could do it with a pistol, which in doing would make you the most armed man in the country.
Want to play Robot Wars using 40k Concepts? PM me for details on how you can get your FREE copy of the rules.
Lord Zambia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 16:05   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eastern Fringe
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to Colonel Marksman
Default Re: Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightperson
I think the Adepticon INAT FAQ has ruled that the rule also takes effect when assaulting a unit under Tau stealth field
That's interesting, because the Stealth Field Generator specifically states that they count as being in cover when they are assaulted.

But the KFF is just a cover save, sorry.
__________________
If the Eldar see battle as a symphony,
Then the Elati have mastered a solo piece,
Of every instrument.


Games in the Past Month:
Tau: W-1, T-0, L-1
Witch H: W-0, T-0, L-0
Eldar: W-2, T-0, L-1
Guard: W-0, T-0, L-0
Other: W-2, T-1, L-0
Colonel Marksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Mar 2010, 18:32   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Kustom Force Field - Obscured Vehicles and Assault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel Marksman
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightperson
I think the Adepticon INAT FAQ has ruled that the rule also takes effect when assaulting a unit under Tau stealth field
That's interesting, because the Stealth Field Generator specifically states that they count as being in cover when they are assaulted.
The Adepticon FAQ is going against RAW to patch a rule that was broken by 5th Edition. In 4th Edition just being in cover was enough to strike first in close combat. In 5th Edition the enemy actually has to move through terrain, so the Stealth Field wasn't operating as it was meant to. Adepticon will usually fix little things like that if they can.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kustom Force Field... Jedibean Orks 9 19 Jun 2009 05:32
Kustom Force Field and cover IraSummers Orks 10 27 Dec 2008 12:35
Cover from Kustom Force Field Spyder Orks 7 02 Aug 2008 01:27
Kustom Force Field Question icer190 Orks 2 13 Nov 2007 22:47
Kustom Force field question Wile E Orks 11 10 Jan 2006 17:46