Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Snikrots Ambush! Rule
Reply
Old 13 Mar 2010, 21:22   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Snikrots Ambush! Rule

I recently heard a discussion about Snikrots Ambush! rule being used with Ghazgkull to allow him to come in on the enemies board edge. I know Adepticon ruled against it, but I was just curious RAW-wise. The reason I think this works, is because Ambush! isn't a USR, or a modification of one. It's just saying "His unit may enter the game from any board edge". The IC's rule for joining units actually state that the become part of the unit.

Legal or Illigal RAW-wise?
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2010, 21:32   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

IMO it depends if the IC make the unit lose the special rules as, for exemples, a XV-commander joins a stealth team, the stealth team loses ther stealth ability or joining a non-deepstriking IC to a deepstriking unit.

If it does then no,
If it doesn't make them lose it then yes it's legal.


Anything in the ork FAQ??
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2010, 21:34   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
IMO it depends if the IC make the unit lose the special rules as, for exemples, a XV-commander joins a stealth team, the stealth team loses ther stealth ability or joining a non-deepstriking IC to a deepstriking unit.

If it does then no,
If it doesn't make them lose it then yes it's legal.


Anything in the ork FAQ??
Nothing in the FAQ, but Adepticon ruled against it. The rule only says that "His unit may come in from any board edge" and since ICs become a part of X unit, he would gain the rule.
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 00:09   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to razgriz_cipher
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

I think this may have been an oversight to allow this. RAI I think it is a special version of infiltrate. It is sort of unorky to do that. I think wether or not its gazgahall does not matter it would mater if it is something else.


Why the hell would I think of putting grotsnik in it fell no pain kommandos that come in from any table edge that does get evil but you cannot control them.
__________________
Quote:
<Wargamer[TO]> - I figure it should go boom by spirit of the rules
razgriz_cipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 04:39   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

The reason you do Ghazg is so you go D6 (2D6 pick highest) + 6" + D6 (2D6 pick the highest) for that unit the turn it comes in for assaulting. That is MEAN, especially when it is ANY board edge.
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 10:49   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8,901
Send a message via MSN to Jeff Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

I may be wrong as it has been a while since i read the dex.

Ambush allows the unit to arrive from any edge when outflanking?

Kommandos come with scout and/or infiltrate, which allows them to do so.

Ghaz does not.

Adding Ghaz gets rid of the scout or infiltrate rule.
__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 12:16   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Behind you!!
Posts: 3,308
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

I agree with everyone that says that IC has to have the special rule for him to be able to do it.

Ghaz does not have infiltrate or scout and therefore can not be put with an outflanking unit.

- Will
__________________
NADS
Will of Kaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 20:28   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD
Ambush allows the unit to arrive from any edge when outflanking?
No, it only says that his unit may "Arrive from any board edge when they become available from reserve"

Quote:
Kommandos come with scout and/or infiltrate, which allows them to do so.

Ghaz does not.

Adding Ghaz gets rid of the scout or infiltrate rule.
That's awesome. Too bad none of those rules relate to the Ambush! rule.

Quote:
Ghaz does not have infiltrate or scout and therefore can not be put with an outflanking unit.

- Will
Correct, but they are not outflanking, and the Ambush! says that Snikrots unit may come in from any board edge, and IC's literally become part of the unit, ergo, becoming part of Snikrot's unit.
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 21:21   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via AIM to razgriz_cipher
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

I think it is legal but should not really be done. It is just messed up and sort of trying to mess the game up. I know this was not how it was intended. Why do you need to resort to this to win.

It should be written as "Grotsnik and the kommandos in his unit ..." that is at least how I am veiwing it as intended.
__________________
Quote:
<Wargamer[TO]> - I figure it should go boom by spirit of the rules
razgriz_cipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2010, 22:00   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 47
Default Re: Snikrots Ambush! Rule

Read as written it makes sense and would be legal, but anyone doing that in a game deserves a dreadsocking. It's always been the case that adding an IC to a unit removes any special abilities they may have (infiltrate, scout) if all the models in the unit don't have the rule. Fluff-wise it's ridiculous as well, no upstanding Ork warlord (well, maybe a Bloodaxe) is going to try and sneak around the enemy, let alone Ghazghkull. It's obviously an oversight on GW's end.
Grimrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assassins ambush. dink666 Fluff/Stories 0 19 Jun 2007 13:45
Jungle Ambush Rev_Enge(spc) Fluff/Stories 18 07 Jun 2007 04:36
ambush vs. frontline nurglelovestau Introduce yourself 2 21 Aug 2005 03:59
Ambush! : Part I spainops Fluff/Stories 10 19 Apr 2005 19:33