Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

500-Point Ork Army List: Need some help making it for Doubles Tournament
Old 30 Dec 2009, 14:32   #1 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal

Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default 500-Point Ork Army List: Need some help making it for Doubles Tournament

So, there's a 1000-Point Hobby/Games Doubles Tournament coming up soon. I'm thinking of joining in with my Orks (My Imperial Guard wants to be borrowed by a friend of mine but I'm still thinking...). I have no experience whatsoever on games this small as well as having the hobby side of it coming into my play.

So, I was wondering what Ork Army List that would have a balanced of competitiveness, composition and painting (I guess which models look cool)?

EDIT: I have no idea who I am partnering up with nor who are my opponents nor the rules nor the missions. I'm going in blind so I want a very well-balanced and all-rounded list.
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2009, 15:04   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Re: 500-Point Ork Army List: Need some help making it for Doubles Tournament

In a game so small, the odds of facing any seriously strong guns is low, which is a great boon to you. There are a few choices I would suggest off the top of my head.

1). Boyz, lots and lots of Boyz. In a game of 1,000 points divided over two armies, numbers will kill your opponents. I'd personally start with two mobs of at least 20 with PK Nob. Or, go with two full mobs bare, and take a KFF mek (not sure on the points of that bugger, but if too much drop a few boyz to fit). Regardless of what your partner brings, such a large host will certainly distract your opponent enough for you to plan your attack.