Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Have I been doing assaults wrong?
Reply
Old 23 Nov 2009, 11:33   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 743
Default Have I been doing assaults wrong?

Hi All,
I just had this strange thought as I was walking this morning:
Am I doing my assaults wrong? (i.e. making them too hard?)
If a group of Boyz assault a vehicle with a PK Nob, sometimes the Nob misses (especially if the vehicle has moved >6").
Now I was realizing that after my Boyz assault they sometimes (but not often) will immobilize the vehicle with glances (lucky 6's! Gotta love 'em).
Since they strike before the Nob, does that mean that the Nob will auto-hit, as it is attacking an immobilized vehicle? I've been rolling them all at the same time at the same target number.
Wanted opinions, even if they are, "Of course, you git, it's obvious!"

Best,
-BT
BigToof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Nov 2009, 11:57   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 391
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

Opinions eh BigToof? i could give some...

Personally I don't think that you get automatic hits for the PK because they all strike at once, it's just the initative order on who gets to hit first, they technically all hit together but you have to roll for the boyz

But then again I could be wrong and you could be right, but that's my opinion
Jasonsea212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Nov 2009, 12:49   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

Some of us have been debating this in the General board.

Here's the short version of my view. They don't all swing at once, that's rather the point of initiative. You're contradicting yourself there Jason. You say they strike at once, that initiative is "just" the order of who hits first, and then follow with they all hit together...which is it, it can't be both. If everyone swung at the same time then initiative wouldn't have a point at all in the game.

Anyway, nothing says that assaulting vehicles is any different in regards to initiative, only that they aren't locked in assault. So, you'd work the initiative steps and could subsequently immobilize a vehicle for your PK Nob to auto-hit.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Nov 2009, 13:51   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 176
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

Since the vehicle has moved that trun, i beleive it you still need sixes
arsenal1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Nov 2009, 14:20   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

That's the thing though and where using initiative comes in. Say you have Boyz and a Nob with a PK. The rules for assaulting a vehicle do not state that initiative is out the window. The only difference in assaulting a vehicle is the rolls to-hit and that it's not a locked combat. Nowhere does it say you don't follow initiative and since assaults use initiative then to me that says you follow standard procedure. The Boyz swing before the Nob and manage to immobilize it. Now, rolling to hit a vehicle states "is immobilized or was stationary" gets auto-hits. Since we're dealing with initiative then we reference that chart at each step, not just once for the entire assault because that defeats the intent of initiative.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Nov 2009, 15:59   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada, eh!
Posts: 1,191
Send a message via MSN to crazyguy832
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

Yes, the nob auto-hits. That's the whole point of initiative against vehicles without a WS. It really does make a difference.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odo The Brave
Crazy Guy, you are very disturbing...

Do It! ;D
5th edition stats (W/D/L)
Deathwing: 14/6/3
Tau: 5/0/3
Blood Angels (NEW): 10/1/3
Blood Angels (OLD): 27/5/10
Eldar: 10/0/1
Death Guard: 1/0/0
crazyguy832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Nov 2009, 18:34   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 743
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

Thanks all!
Now those Rhinos had better beware!
(And it gives me evil Stormboyz ideas as well )

Best,
-BT
BigToof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Nov 2009, 18:47   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

Yeah, actually it's a pretty brutal tactic... this is the way most of my vehicles go down... dem stompy orkses, gotta watch out fer 'em
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe
I trusted you, and it paid off. That was funny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Man They Call Jayne
Yeah Ahab, your not nearly dirty minded enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Spectre
Mass Effect Two please have my babies.
Help people at the hungersite.com
Shasel_Ahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2009, 01:48   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 176
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

Hey guys, I tlaked withmy local Gw manager, and he cleared things up for me. If you shoot at a tank and immobolize it, then assault, since it is a diefferant phase, then yes you auto hit. But if your immobolize it in CC, say with one of your boyz, since it is the same phase during your turn, then you still need to roll to hit with any squad or unit in that same CC. "Assuming the tank moved" If that doesnt make any sense let me know. Thanks
arsenal1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2009, 02:19   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Have I been doing assaults wrong?

That is just what your manager says. Mine LGS manager says deffrollas can run over tanks, so things like this will vary from store to store.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Assaults And You crazyguy832 General 40K 13 20 Apr 2010 19:53
First Turn Assaults? Circus Freak General 40K 31 21 May 2009 03:10
Assaults??? commanderbrightsword General 40K 6 04 Oct 2008 09:56
In the wrong place at the wrong time Tom Norman Space Marines 8 17 Sep 2006 21:38