Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Really Big Charge
Reply
Old 18 Aug 2009, 04:36   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,636
Default Really Big Charge

If an Ork wartrukk with reinforced ram was to ram another vehicle, and destroy itself, could the boys that then disembark charge an enemy unit? BOB says that a unit cannot disembark if it moves over 12 (13 with red paint) but because this is a forced disembark move, would they be allowed to charge?
limpchickeninabizkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Aug 2009, 06:06   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,014
Default Re: Really Big Charge

Not sure here, but my view is if the truck rammed the 12" or 13" with red paint and exploded and not further, then yes as the orks could have gotten out normally.
__________________
You can't kill what you can't see.
Wins Ties Losses
Tau 19 10 8 (Hybrid army)
Orks 15 3 2 (Mekboy and weirdboy based force with boyz, deffkoptas and walkers)
Chaos12 2 4 (Infantry based chaos)
juraigamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Aug 2009, 06:20   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: Really Big Charge

What if the trukk moved 19 in a ram, blew up and caused the orks to disembark? Would the be able to assault?
limpchickeninabizkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Aug 2009, 07:10   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,014
Default Re: Really Big Charge

The truck moved at over cruising speed, so per the rulebook you cannot disembark (normally) however it doesn't say that you can't assault anywhere (that I can see) so you might be able to argue that you can, however I'm sure someone with more info will happen by.
__________________
You can't kill what you can't see.
Wins Ties Losses
Tau 19 10 8 (Hybrid army)
Orks 15 3 2 (Mekboy and weirdboy based force with boyz, deffkoptas and walkers)
Chaos12 2 4 (Infantry based chaos)
juraigamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Aug 2009, 07:17   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,636
Default Re: Really Big Charge

The thing is its a forced disembark move, not a willing one. That means it is technically possible, dice rolling well you can get a 45 inch charge!

19 for trukk, 18 for Kerreen, 2 inch get out, 6 inch charge!
limpchickeninabizkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Aug 2009, 12:21   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Really Big Charge

I'm going to have so say no, you can't charge. The rules cover normal disembarking and charging for open-topped vehicles, which would say you can't do it if you moved that far. The fact the vehicle blew up is irrelevant, you still moved too far to begin with.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Aug 2009, 13:13   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Really Big Charge

It depends on how sympathetic your opponents are. If the local community is going with the idea that Ramming=Tank Shocking, then it is a question. Same issue as with the Deffrolla. If not, this situation really only applies to looted vehicles and Battlewagons. But they are not Fast, so it eliminates the problem of moving over 12"(13").

But the end result is never possible. If a vehicle has moved Flat Out or is going to move Flat Out, passengers can not disembark. Passengers that can not disembark from a vehicle when forced to are destroyed. All of the "Ramshackle" rules indicate that the Boyz must Disembark once the result is determined (this is slightly different from the "Explodes" result in the rulebook). So in all cases a Trukk that has moved Flat Out will actually kill its passengers if it is destroyed by ramming another vehicle.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charge! Thor{DoH} Orks 17 27 Apr 2010 12:23
The Demolition Charge MaddPhish Imperial Guard 10 04 Jul 2007 16:11
Why Does GW Need to Charge So Much? akthomas89 General 40K 60 15 Dec 2006 02:33
CHARGE! Brood_Lord Space Marines 3 10 Jan 2006 10:09
when to charge in ? frankthetank Forces of Chaos 9 03 Jul 2005 14:57