Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Kustom Force Field...
Reply
Old 18 Jun 2009, 18:07   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,182
Send a message via AIM to Jedibean
Default Kustom Force Field...

So I was reading the rules for Kustom Forcefields and I noticed something interesting. In the Ork codex it says, "All units in range of the Kustom Forcefield recieve a 5+ cover save. Any vehicles in range of the kustom forcefield count as being obscured."

This is interesting because it implies that it doesn't just work for Ork units. Any unit, Ork or not, will get a 5+ cover save. Similarly, any vehicle will get a 4+ cover save. So if I run my Hammerhead within 6" of your big mek, I get a 4+ cover save no matter what. Because the book doesn't say anything about it only working for orks. It specifically says "Any Unit" and "Any Vehicle."
Jedibean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2009, 18:17   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 742
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

I don't think it quite works like that, there would be something that says it somewhere but there isn't so probably not, on the other hand I don't see (fluff-wise) why they wouldn't as they would still be inside the force field however then you get into arguments about a unit inside the forcefield shooting at another unit inside and it all goes up in smoke, I would say keep it simple, doesn't count
__________________
cammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2009, 18:27   #3 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

It does indeed effect every unit in range, enemy and friendly. Just one of those things that makes Orks interesting to play.

But it doesn't work in Close Combat, so running friendly units within 6" of the Mek is usually asking to be charged by whoever is around him. The enemy running into it is usually an act of desperation. Unless they are an assault army, in which case it won't matter very much either way.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2009, 18:38   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 742
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

Hmm, well that's news to me, I suppose it doesn't do much as the chances are the KFF mek will be surrounded on all sides by friendly units who are taking advantage of the save
__________________
cammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2009, 19:21   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

Something to consider from the last 5th FAQ.

Quote:
Q. Am I able to gain the benefits of any of my
opponent?s wargear or special rules, such as
Teleport Homers, Chaos Icons, Tyranid Synapse,
Necron Resurrection Orbs etc?

A. In most occasions this is clear, as the rules use
the words ?friendly? or ?own? to indicate your
units, and ?enemy? for the opponent?s. On the
other hand, some rules clearly specify that they
affect ?friend and foe?. A few rules are, however,
slightly ambiguous as they don?t clearly specify
this distinction. As a general principle, we
recommend that you cannot use or gain the
benefits from any of the wargear or special rules
of your opponent?s army, unless specifically
stated in the rule itself (?friend or foe?) or in an
official FAQ.
The KFF entry I see as ambiguous by the above definition since it does not state friend or foe but instead units. I see units as anything, friend or foe, but it does not clearly make that distinction either in the entry.

I'm not arguing it one way or another but just passing along something that someone else may mention in a game.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Jun 2009, 19:50   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 943
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

I'd totally let my opponent use it if they want to get close enough. My Mek's got a Power Klaw and the Battlewagon he's in is more than likely loaded up with some angry Boyz or Nobz.

As far as I see, it makes sense given the rules and in the way the technology most likely works. That's got two things going for it, I'd say yes, an opponent definitely gets the cover.
__________________
The soulless sentience is the enemy of all.

Mournus Skitarii 3rd Legion, the Will of Mourn

Kaffl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2009, 03:45   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,182
Send a message via AIM to Jedibean
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

Obviously getting within 6" of a Mek is a bad idea in general. However, if you're desperate then it's something to consider. Just figured I'd make everyone else aware of the situation.
Jedibean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2009, 03:53   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 943
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

How courteous of you.

I can't think of a single scenario when getting inside forcefield range will help, especially since the Big Mek can simply step back out again. It shouldn't ever actually help anyone.
__________________
The soulless sentience is the enemy of all.

Mournus Skitarii 3rd Legion, the Will of Mourn

Kaffl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2009, 05:15   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9,814
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

Actually, it could help if you were desperate enough.

You'd have to ring the Mek with enough models (probably Kroot) so that moving more than 6" away isn't possible.



It's definitely one of those stupid "one-n-a-million" cases. :
__________________


Seventh Sanctum signature oddities.
Alignment: Neutral Pessimistic
Area of Magical Study: Practical Chronomancy
Favorite Spells: Divine Spell of the Cotton Candy Golem and Field of Bacon.

Proud supporter of Joe Wood!

Makes this your one good deed a day.
http://www.thehungersite.com/
enderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Jun 2009, 05:32   #10 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Kustom Force Field...

I forgot about the statement in the FAQ. That probably decides it.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kustom Force Field or Shokk Attack gun? Jasonsea212 Orks 3 15 Nov 2009 08:53
Kustom Force Field and cover IraSummers Orks 10 27 Dec 2008 12:35
Cover from Kustom Force Field Spyder Orks 7 02 Aug 2008 01:27
Kustom Force Field Question icer190 Orks 2 13 Nov 2007 22:47
Kustom Force field question Wile E Orks 11 10 Jan 2006 17:46