Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Double IC Units?
Reply
Old 23 Feb 2009, 14:30   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 743
Default Double IC Units?

Hi All,
Sorry, just had an unusual game with one semi-diabolical unit.
It was made of two IC units and the Bodyguards of one of the IC's.
Never having seen it before, I wasn't sure this Mega-Unit was legal, so I wanted to throw it out just to see if anyone knew anything definitive. I know in 5th you can link together two IC's, but can you also link their bodyguards?

Best,
-BT

Edit: Also, can you then link two bodyguard units together? It seems a bit cheezy, but you never know... A Chapter Master+Honor Guard+Captain+Bodyguard unit would be so nasty...
BigToof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2009, 14:40   #2 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Double IC Units?

A unit of an IC and his Retinue/Bodyguards can be joined by another lone IC but you can't join 2 units of an IC and his Retinue/Bodyguard together.

E.g. 2 IG Command Squads can't combine but an IG Command Squad joined by an Inquisitor is acceptable.

Hope this helps
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2009, 14:42   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Double IC Units?

Two ICs can form into a unit per-page 48 in the rulebook. You couldn't have one IC attached to unit #1 and another to unit #2 and then form up though since an IC can only be attached to one unit at a time.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2009, 18:26   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 743
Default Re: Double IC Units?

Thanks for the replies!
Ok, at least I feel better about the mega-unit.
(Which, if anyone is interested was an Eldar Samm-Haim style with Autarch, Farseer, and Warlock retinue all on jetbikes!; Hmm, should probably write that one up too...)
Too bad that the Orks don't really have any use to combine our IC's...

Best,
-BT
BigToof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2009, 18:30   #5 (permalink)
Zen
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,937
Send a message via MSN to Zen
Default Re: Double IC Units?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thor{DoH}
Two ICs can form into a unit per-page 48 in the rulebook. You couldn't have one IC attached to unit #1 and another to unit #2 and then form up though since an IC can only be attached to one unit at a time.
Ah, I see I see. But it isn't much of use. I rather attach them to a Elite units to compliment them and to form a bodyguard unit.
Zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2009, 22:37   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Double IC Units?

Ghazghkull Thrakka
Maddok Grotsnik
MANz x 3 (1 Combi Skorcha & 1 Combi Rokkit)

ALL with CYBORK Bodies & in a Trukk or Wagon

First off this unit is extremely fluffy since the two IC have a close relationship with each other. Now this squad is small in size but packs a mean punch. They want to get into Close Cbt so Grotsniks rule isn;t that bad. The Thrakka allows the MANz to be troops and his Prophet of the Waaagh compliments the MANz. The last bit that really puts this unit over the top is that they are all kitted out uniquely so feel free to spread the wounds around.

You could also sub out Thrakka for a normal Warboss in Mega Armour for those that are on a point diet.
Hyena031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Feb 2009, 22:51   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 743
Default Re: Double IC Units?

Hyena031:
I assume you mean "Maddok GROTSNIK," as if Boss Snikrot was a Maddok as well that... that... ok, that would be too horrible to think about... (I think it broke my brain...)

Best,
-BT
BigToof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Feb 2009, 00:28   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Double IC Units?

Yes big typo there, both have snik my bad but fixed it.
Hyena031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Feb 2009, 04:15   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Double IC Units?

There was a post on the Waagh about joining an IC bikerboss with Snikrot, and having them split up once they ambushed from the rear table edge. Usually IC in a unit get rid of the units special rules, but I guess ambush is worded a lot differently than stealth/infiltrate. Not sure if I'd ever try that combo though.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Feb 2009, 04:43   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Double IC Units?

That is definetly interesting Scoutfox but I would be tempted to put Old Zogworth in with Snikrot. This would work great against armies that are keeping their IC in the rear with the gear. Essentally Old Zogworth gets at least one chance at using his Curse. Great find and thanks for informing us.
Hyena031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blast templates and firing at units behind other units Tanyos General 40K 13 21 Dec 2008 16:56
Double pistols TipTop1987 Space Marines 9 05 Dec 2007 09:30
double tournement help Alrik Tau 2 01 Feb 2007 14:28
Selling Eldar army (specific units, combinations of units or whole thing :-P) Tau Online Marketplace - Buy Sell Trade 2 13 Nov 2006 15:01