Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Kustom Force Field and cover
Reply
Old 23 Dec 2008, 17:18   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 198
Default Kustom Force Field and cover

Hey guys, I have a question about the Ork Kustom Force Field. The friend that I play the most has started using the force field guy. We could not figure out, can the 4+ cover save be countered by barrage, marker lights, etc? Curious as this came up last game. Thanks!
IraSummers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Dec 2008, 17:25   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: netherlands bennekom
Posts: 619
Send a message via MSN to bloodfire
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

No for barrage (it doesn't counter the force field), yes for cover save ignoring weapons (flamers, thundercheeze cannon), yes for markerlights (if enough are used this way)

The shield gives a 5+ cover to infantry and 4+ to vehicles by the way.
__________________
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
But Isn't it funny to think that guard might be able to copy eldar tactics slightly?
You mean "Perform Eldar tactics better than Eldar", right? :P
Not unless the Eldar have an obscure Warrior Aspect that revolves around the complete mastery of the common light bulb.
Infected by Skaven
bloodfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Dec 2008, 03:34   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: You tell me
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to The_One
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

Actually he is allowed a cover save from barrage weapons. Just read the rulebook entry and it says that:"Remember that models in area terrain get their cover save regardless of the direction the shot is coming from" *sorry mods if i'm not allowed to quote*

Essentially your allowed to take cover saves against anything (cause I can't think of any conter-examples to ignoring cover ???)

Everything else Bloodfire said is correct though
The_One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Dec 2008, 10:55   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: netherlands bennekom
Posts: 619
Send a message via MSN to bloodfire
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_One
Actually he is allowed a cover save from barrage weapons. Just read the rulebook entry and it says that:"Remember that models in area terrain get their cover save regardless of the direction the shot is coming from" *sorry mods if i'm not allowed to quote*
That's what I said.
__________________
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
But Isn't it funny to think that guard might be able to copy eldar tactics slightly?
You mean "Perform Eldar tactics better than Eldar", right? :P
Not unless the Eldar have an obscure Warrior Aspect that revolves around the complete mastery of the common light bulb.
Infected by Skaven
bloodfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Dec 2008, 18:02   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: You tell me
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to The_One
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodfire
No for barrage
Your post reads that you don't get a cover save. Not trying to buck your credit but i'd recommend you change that.
The_One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Dec 2008, 18:23   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by IraSummers
can the 4+ cover save be countered by barrage?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodfire
No for barrage (it doesn't counter the force field)
Reads quite clear to me that Bloodfire did indeed state that barrage did not bypass (i.e. negate) a KFF cover save and thus you could take a cover save against a barrage weapon.
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2008, 03:17   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: You tell me
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to The_One
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

That's because it was edited
Before it didn't have the "(it doesn't counter the force field)"
I think this thread can be locked, the question has been answered
The_One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2008, 05:30   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 521
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodfire
No for barrage (it doesn't counter the force field), yes for cover save ignoring weapons (flamers, thundercheeze cannon), yes for markerlights (if enough are used this way)

The shield gives a 5+ cover to infantry and 4+ to vehicles by the way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_One
Actually he is allowed a cover save from barrage weapons. Just read the rulebook entry and it says that:"Remember that models in area terrain get their cover save regardless of the direction the shot is coming from" *sorry mods if i'm not allowed to quote*

Essentially your allowed to take cover saves against anything (cause I can't think of any conter-examples to ignoring cover ???)

Everything else Bloodfire said is correct though
Just to summarize the above and add a little:

Barrage weapons cannot nullify this, as there is no direction the cover comes from. (it is not a wall near the Mek, but a field protecting everything near him.)

Flamers and other template weapons, or weapons that state they ignore cover affect the orks normally, as they do ignore the cover.

Markerlights can reduce the save or nullify it, depending on how many markerlight counters are expanded.

Psychic powers that do not cause wounds, markrelights, and other effects that do not cause wounds cannot be stopped by any cover save, so they work normally.

The KFF gives a 5+ save to infantry, and obscures any vehicles within it's range.
BrownKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Dec 2008, 13:26   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 198
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

Thanks for the explanation guys. I need to bust him on this as he has been playing and telling us that he gets a 4+ save for anything within 12".

I thought Ord Barrage ignored cover? I will need to go back and look in the rule book, I don't have it with me at the moment though. At least I now have a way to cut that down or out .

So if it ignores cover, he does not get it, correct?
IraSummers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Dec 2008, 18:02   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Kustom Force Field and cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by IraSummers
Thanks for the explanation guys. I need to bust him on this as he has been playing and telling us that he gets a 4+ save for anything within 12".
Dreadsock him. The KFF gives a 5+ save to every infantry unit and obscures vehicles within 6", not 12".

Quote:
So if it ignores cover, he does not get it, correct?
Since the KFF confers a cover save, yes. Also note that "cover" means he doesn't get it in CC.

Cheers,
-Bone
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kustom Force Field... Jedibean Orks 9 19 Jun 2009 05:32
Cover from Kustom Force Field Spyder Orks 7 02 Aug 2008 01:27
Kustom Force Field Question icer190 Orks 2 13 Nov 2007 22:47
Kustom Force field and concealment ? How does it work ? Bladesuit Orks 5 12 Sep 2007 20:20
Kustom Force field question Wile E Orks 11 10 Jan 2006 17:46