Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

KFF; something to think about
Reply
Old 13 Feb 2008, 13:05   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,399
Default KFF; something to think about

So if you take a look the KFF it says it gives all units within X" a cover save. So then I would assume that if I took Kroot Mercs then they would also benefit from the KFF. Like wise though all enemy units withing X" the cover save.
Hyena031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Feb 2008, 14:53   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

This is only logical; after all, it IS a force field, and the Mek can`t decide which unit is covered and which isn`t.

Enemy units profiting from it are rather rare, after all, if the enemy ends up in 6", you`ll charge him, anyway ;D
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Feb 2008, 14:56   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

I agree, it makes sense, and I also agree with Bonesaw. There may be the rare odd occasion where an enemy makes use of the KFF and isn't charged, but seems very few and far between.
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 02:30   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,484
Send a message via AIM to Grandpa Ducky Send a message via Yahoo to Grandpa Ducky
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyena031
So if you take a look the KFF it says it gives all units within X" a cover save. So then I would assume that if I took Kroot Mercs then they would also benefit from the KFF. Like wise though all enemy units withing X" the cover save.
Hyena, your logic sounds solid. It makes sense that everyone would get to benefit from a gigantic bubble of bullet-stopping energy.

And a question of my own:
So if my Boyz were being protected by a KFF and I got charged by someone, would I get the bonuses for being assaulted in cover?

-Grandpa Ducky
__________________


Grandpa Ducky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 02:55   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

Quote:
And a question of my own:
So if my Boyz were being protected by a KFF and I got charged by someone, would I get the bonuses for being assaulted in cover?
No, read the last line of the Kustom Force Field rules; it has no effect in an assault (which is only logical, I think).
AuinMyrrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 03:35   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,803
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

They had ruled the same in the 3rd-ed FAQ. Also, with the way KFFs work, rather than a pie-plate of death, it is now in theory possible to place the Big Mek in the center of a rifle-line, or a "flower of death" since the UNIT as a whole gets the cover.
__________________
Anyway, my wife plays Slaanesh so I HAVE to play Khorne-bebe
MagicJuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Feb 2008, 04:11   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,484
Send a message via AIM to Grandpa Ducky Send a message via Yahoo to Grandpa Ducky
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dra'Tuisich-Novae
Quote:
And a question of my own:
So if my Boyz were being protected by a KFF and I got charged by someone, would I get the bonuses for being assaulted in cover?
No, read the last line of the Kustom Force Field rules; it has no effect in an assault (which is only logical, I think).
Not too sure how I missed that... Thanks, Novae.
__________________


Grandpa Ducky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Feb 2008, 14:35   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,803
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

This was unlike the other "generate your own Cover" effects, such as the Runepriest Stormcall ability, or the Harlequin Holo-field (Citadel Journal edition, not 4th-ed version), so it's easy to get confused.
__________________
Anyway, my wife plays Slaanesh so I HAVE to play Khorne-bebe
MagicJuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 00:37   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 289
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

Is the KFF only avaible to the big mek or can any mek have one?
__________________
"Men are basically smart or dumb and lazy or ambitious. The dumb and ambitious ones are dangerous and I get rid of them. The dumb and lazy ones I give mundane duties. The smart ambitious ones I put on my staff. The smart and lazy ones I make my commanders.
Rogal Dorn 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Feb 2008, 02:09   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Default Re: KFF; something to think about

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogal Dorn 1
Is the KFF only avaible to the big mek or can any mek have one?
If you'd looked at the entries in the Codex, you'd know.

Only a Big Mek can take one.
AuinMyrrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On