Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Weirdboy question
Reply
Old 25 Jan 2008, 04:35   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Weirdboy question

So, I tried out the Weirboy for the first time tonight (battrep to follow), and he was great, but a couple questions came up. Thanks to those who answer.

1. My Weirdboy was riding in a Trukk that turboboosted during the movement phase. In the shooting phase I roll up the Frazzle power. Now normally you can't fire if your transport went more than 12", 13" with red paint. Can/must he use the power? We played it that the Ork Codex trumped the rule book and the Weirdboy used the power.

2. The Codex states the Weirdboy MUST use the randomly determined power each turn. What happens when you roll up Frazzle or Zzap and have no enemies in LOS to use the power against? Does he target Orks, or terrain/the ground? We played that he blasted a hole in a nearby building to release the psychic energy.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2008, 05:02   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 599
Send a message via MSN to sneroplex
Default Re: Weirdboy question

For both 1 and 2 I would say that nothing at all happens. You can't shoot from a transport moving more than 12" (13" with red paint), even though it says he must use that power - he would likely lose control and shoot into the sky or something. You can't fire a weapon against something that's not in line of sight, and only when you roll a 1 for a psychic power would you hurt your own guys.
__________________
I shook city walls and towers, wreaking havoc in the streets. Burned palaces of cowardly kings, not a one stood up to me (fools). Bear bloody banners in blazing skies, brandish battle-axe and broadsword! Let drums of glory sound like thunder, hail Barbaric Warlord!
sneroplex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2008, 12:53   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,399
Default Re: Weirdboy question

The codex is a little cloudy on how a weirdboy gets a power wpn though. You roll for his power in the shooting phase but it says that if he is in CC and rolls a 1, 2 or 3 then you count those powers as a CC. With that said I would say that if you rolled a 1, 2, or 3 in the shooting phase and don't use it then it equates to the wierdboy having a power wpn.

DISCLAIMER: THIS IS ME READING INTO THE CODEX.
Hyena031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2008, 14:05   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose-Costa Rica
Posts: 278
Default Re: Weirdboy question

If i understand right.

The weardboy canīt control its own powers and at the begining of each shooting phase must use the ramdom power so if in that turn when the shooting phase comes the weirdboy is actually on close combat then you treat those result as power weapons insted of using the normal power.

So as the book says he canīt control it so you canīt choose to not use the power to use it later on the assault phase that is why must be done on the shooting phase
__________________
"In torva de logius futurum ibi unicus bellum"
gilber987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2008, 14:30   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Weirdboy question

I understand what happens when he is in cc, it is when he rolls Frazzle or Zzap and is a transport that went more than 13" or if he has no LOS to use the power against.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2008, 16:23   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose-Costa Rica
Posts: 278
Default Re: Weirdboy question

Is a shooting attack so normal restrictions apply if moved more than 12" canīt shoot
__________________
"In torva de logius futurum ibi unicus bellum"
gilber987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2008, 18:44   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,645
Default Re: Weirdboy question

I'm going to have to go with the consensus here that he wouldn't fire if it moved more then 12".
__________________
Thor{DoH} is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weirdboy question KO321 Orks 13 22 Jun 2010 04:31
Weirdboy Will of Kaos Showcase 6 19 Apr 2010 08:54
Weirdboy Ackack. MagicJuggler Orks 2 28 Mar 2008 17:35
Weirdboy Question - Confused Thor{DoH} Orks 8 05 Mar 2008 11:32
Gork's Apprentice Weirdboy Warphead Doctor Thunder Conversion 0 23 Nov 2007 15:59