Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Assaulting from open topped red paint jobs...
Reply
Old 29 Oct 2007, 01:42   #1 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Assaulting from open topped red paint jobs...

Alright, so I've been playing with Orks for a bit now...a few months. And I've read and re read the rules for assaulting from open topped vehicles. From my understanding, I can assault from an open topped vehicle. AND I can move my vehicle its full move and still assault from it. AND I can deploy so that any part of the models' bases are within 2" of the vehicle.

Is this all true? If I'm horribly mistaken, please give me a rules reference to correct me. I'm known to be stupid.

But if this is true, it means that I have an effective range of almost 22" with my Battlewagon. That does not seem right.

Thanks in advance.
Em
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Oct 2007, 06:33   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,920
Default Re: Assaulting from open topped red paint jobs...

You are 100% right. I love being able to charge almost 22" with my Boyz.
scoutfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Oct 2007, 08:35   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Assaulting from open topped red paint jobs...

Well, yes. But since it isn`t enough for a 1st-turn assault and works only if you can move in a straight line without terrain in between, this is fine, especially since Ork armour seems to be made by the same manufacturer than DE armour... :

Cheers,
-Bone
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Oct 2007, 10:50   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 7,663
Default Re: Assaulting from open topped red paint jobs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CmdrBonesaw
Well, yes. But since it isn`t enough for a 1st-turn assault and works only if you can move in a straight line without terrain in between, this is fine, especially since Ork armour seems to be made by the same manufacturer than DE armour... :
Thanks Bone & Scoutfox. I understand about the Ork armor...which is why it seems so wrong to do it with a battlewagon. In my last game, a unit of 16 sluggas & a warboss drove my battlewagon up to a unit of Terminators (with captain...right in the middle of the enemy line) disembarked and massacred the lot of them. They then consolidated into a tactical squad, were charged by another and drove both off. It just seemed horrifically unbalanced since they hardly had any chance to kill the wagon with its ARV and speed.

Loving Orks more and more by the day,
Em
Farseer_Emlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Oct 2007, 14:04   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: Assaulting from open topped red paint jobs...

Drive 13".

Let out boys so that back of furthest Ork is 1.9999 inches away from vehicle.

Assault 6 inches.

So, ultimately, you end up with 20.9999 + width of Ork's base (which can be any size, thanks GW) for your charge range.

That's how i understand it, anyways.
__________________
Friends don't let friends Jump Shoot Jump.
40kenthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Oct 2007, 21:10   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,599
Default Re: Assaulting from open topped red paint jobs...

Hey, make the most of it while you can, they're bound to change this when the new codex comes out.
__________________


Real men read The Strange Gazzet! (PM me for more information)

Thanks to Jais for finding the avatar!
Commander Songblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Oct 2007, 23:01   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Assaulting from open topped red paint jobs...

I doubt it. With the new Dex, Orks even gain Fleet... can you say "WAAAAAARGH!!!"?

Y`know, just typing this makes me feel uncomfortable... alright, let`s hope for the best (but prepare for the worst).

Interesting question: A Trukk full of Mega-armored nobs doesn`t count as open-topped vehicle anymore - can they still charge after leaving the vehicles if it moved that turn?
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open topped artivis General 40K 5 28 Oct 2008 18:57
Open Topped limpchickeninabizkit General 40K 8 18 Aug 2008 18:18
Open Topped Skimmers Zenith_XS Dark Eldar 5 03 Oct 2006 02:39
Open-topped? Ewain Tau 3 17 May 2006 18:31
open topped chimera clarify please Guitardian Imperial Guard 2 19 Mar 2006 20:27