Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Ancient Orc Boss looking forward to Chrimbo!
Old 26 Oct 2007, 09:42   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Ancient Orc Boss looking forward to Chrimbo!

Gweetingz fello Gween Skum!

I'm a newbie here, recently introduced to tau online by an old adversary. It's one of the best forums for 40k players I've seen. Even if I can't stand the blue faced gitz(Tau) I've picked up some great ideas from here.

I must say that having played the old, very potent orc army from the dark mellenium days I was very dissapointed to read the current book. Gone were the pulsa rokkits, the cyboars, force feild projekta's, kustom blasta's, deathskull loota's(old style) etc

I have to admit I took a break from 40k to return this year and grudgingly admit that wilst Orcs seem outclassed by the series of books being released that I've loved the whole new approach to them. Models are much more ...GRITTY... and ard!

In the old days (dark mellenium issue) I use to play the Orc boyz like a GW army and got absolutly toasted, photon flashed, assault cannonated etc.But when I played as a true gambler they were awesome!

For example:

The force feild projekta created an impenetrable brick wall 100 meters thick(50 inches) but lasted one turn and lasted each turn as long as a 4+ was rolled. As the gamble I deducted that every other game I would get more than one turn from it. Suddenly it was one of the best wargear in the game.

Pulsa rokkits were considered pooh by many people and I have to admit I didn't want them either. Thanks to their cost I stayed away. Guessing the range and then rolling dice according to the range(you would nominate so many dice to roll for the range) and roll a pulse range(2d6).