Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith
Reply
Old 17 Apr 2010, 03:12   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 127
Default Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

A couple of questions arose during my last game that we were unable to find a clear answer for.
1. If the monolith deepstrikes, can I purposefully land it inside an enemy unit to , for example, force them off an objective? Or may the monolith only land on top of the enemy via scatter?
2. If the Lord is in a unit of pariahs and wants to use his Nightmare Shroud does this mean the pariahs may not shoot that turn?

Thanks!
Daeghrefn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 04:32   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 74
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

1) I'll let someone well versed in deep striking rules tackle that one (if there is a good answer now, I know it's been heavily debated).

2) The wording for the use of the Shroud just mentions "a weapon" instead of a whole unit of weapons, so I think it just means the Lord can't fire his staff of light if he uses it, but any unit he's attached to is unaffected and can fire as per normal.
Zeeblee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 04:37   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: That bitter taste in the back of your throat, the one kinda wrapped around your uvula that is all that's left of your Pride.
Posts: 5,841
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

For the first, im sure the BOB says somewhere that you cannot put a model on top on an ememy unit when deepstriking.

The monolith simply lets you land safely should you deepstrike onto a unit that would normally damage, or destroy you.

Somewhat like a Drop Pod.

I dont know about the second.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
It is (and this is an objective statement, looking at examples over the last century) really ****ing hard to terrorise the British.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shas'o Ahab
In parting, I've discovered why Farsight started his breakaway faction...
*Farsight looks at Dawn Blade* "Shiny..."*Farsight picks up Dawn Blade and looks around* "... let's be bad guys."
Quote:
Originally Posted by The man they call Waffles
Jayne you y'xa'uuk legend
The Man They Call Jayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 11:09   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rotterdam, Holland
Posts: 154
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

1st one is answered fair enough I guess. The 2nd question is, according to me, quite easy to answer. You should consider the shroud as a shooting weapon. So that means, that if the lord 'fires' his shroud at a unit, the whole squad he's attached to must fire at that unit too. Normal shooting rules.
Sjoerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 11:44   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,692
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

1. You may never deepstrike onto a unit, as it is illegal to place a model within 1" of enemy models. You may only scatter onto the enemy.

2. Nightmare shroud is a shooting weapon, but has no target (area of affect). it can be used, and the pariahs are still free to do what ever they'd like. Even shoot units outside the shrouds affect, as you have yet to fire at any specific enemy unit.
__________________
Necron Battle Challenge Blog, Check it out!
Diplomacy Game thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Strange Child
Sigged.
He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss,the abyss gazes also into you.
~Friedrich Nietzsche
Grindgobble Witherfume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 15:41   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rotterdam, Holland
Posts: 154
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grindgobble Witherfume

2. Nightmare shroud is a shooting weapon, but has no target (area of affect). it can be used, and the pariahs are still free to do what ever they'd like. Even shoot units outside the shrouds affect, as you have yet to fire at any specific enemy unit.
hmm yeah should've checked my codex but don't know where it is at the moment thanks for correcting me
Sjoerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 16:19   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

The Deep Strike on a Monolith has been very heavily debated. A similar situation is that of the Mawloc. Personally, I agree with Adepticon's interpretation - you declare a DS wherever the hell you want. It's only once the model has actually landed on the table (after scatter rolls are made) that you check for Mishap.

Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 16:35   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 127
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

If you may never declare a DS on top of a unit, then how is the Mawloc able to do so? It's entry reads in a very similar way to that of the monolith. Perhaps people are just using it incorrectly? This is part of the reason I was wondering about the Monolith.

I was under the impression that you could DS on top of a unit, but most people did not because it would normally be a mishap. Thanks for the clarification
Daeghrefn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 16:54   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

The argument is that you're not allowed to DS the Mawloc on top of units. Which I think is extremely far from the intention and makes the Mawloc even more of a paperweight than it already is. And yes, the Mawloc and Monolith share very similar wording, so, hopefully, when the Nids finally get an FAQ it will clear up the Monolith issue by extension.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2010, 17:06   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 127
Default Re: Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith

Hopefully that will happen before the end of May... I have a tournament to head to and it would be nice to get some clarification on that before hand. Thanks for the input all!
Daeghrefn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monolith Deepstriking + Particle Whip Schev Necrons 2 19 Dec 2009 01:53
Nightmare Shroud questions Daeghrefn Necrons 2 03 Jul 2009 03:56
What do i do about a Deepstriking monolith? General-Hoth Tau 16 19 Jul 2007 04:49
Deepstriking Monolith headache Tyr Tau 12 26 Jan 2007 13:48