Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question regarding force weapons and WBB
Reply
Old 05 Dec 2009, 15:29   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,014
Default Question regarding force weapons and WBB

Hello all. I recently played a nercon player whom had a lord with a phylactery, while I was running chaos with typhus on my side.

The basic question is does the force weapon moral test/instant death ability negate WBB? Also what situations would allow said lord to actually get back up from having been killed by a power weapon/instant death/ect?

Thanks.
__________________
You can't kill what you can't see.
Wins Ties Losses
Tau 19 10 8 (Hybrid army)
Orks 15 3 2 (Mekboy and weirdboy based force with boyz, deffkoptas and walkers)
Chaos12 2 4 (Infantry based chaos)
juraigamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Dec 2009, 15:44   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ross-on-Wye, England
Posts: 904
Send a message via Yahoo to Hairy Grim
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

Force Weapons are Power Weapons which inflict Instant Death with a passed psychic test. Necrons may only get up with WBB from Power Weapon or Instant Death attacks if there is a Lord within 6" who has a Ressurrection Orb. So if said Lord has a Ressurrection Orb, then it may get up up with WBB (& in your case use Phylactery). However, if it does not have a Ressurrection Orb, then it may not get back up.
__________________
[img width=650 height=59]http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/3373/lazorzcopylh9.png[/img]
Hairy Grim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Dec 2009, 22:29   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Now, or I release the scarabs!
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

The only thing saving a lord from a force weapon is a ressurection orb. Phylactery doesn't make a damned difference apart from how many wounds he would have left after a WBB.
__________________
[img width=650 height=87]http://i685.photobucket.com/albums/vv216/shakey_aj/Imperialnecrons.jpg[/img]
Visit 'Unholy's log of war!' for all my latest modelling stuff!
Unholy Harbinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Dec 2009, 04:32   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,014
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

I see, so the res orb works even while the lord is destroy then by your explanations... and the phylactery only dictates how many wounds it comes back with. Thanks.
__________________
You can't kill what you can't see.
Wins Ties Losses
Tau 19 10 8 (Hybrid army)
Orks 15 3 2 (Mekboy and weirdboy based force with boyz, deffkoptas and walkers)
Chaos12 2 4 (Infantry based chaos)
juraigamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Dec 2009, 17:01   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 156
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

Quote:
Originally Posted by juraigamer
I see, so the res orb works even while the lord is destroy then by your explanations... and the phylactery only dictates how many wounds it comes back with. Thanks.
No, the Res Orb only works when the Lord is NOT damaged. The check for the range of the ResOrb affect is done at the time the model is damaged not at the WBB roll. Thus, a Lord with a ResOrb is, by rule, always in range of the Orb while units need to have at least one model in range of the Orb to be able to be affected.

Damaged models are considered battlefield debris for most rules, including the affect of wargear. Thus, a damaged Lord cannot help others until repaired.
__________________
There are no stupid questions, just stupid people asking questions.
TheGreatAvatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Dec 2009, 17:05   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

Also, in response to what TheGreatAvatar said, always attempt to bring up your lord first, that way, if he does get up you still have orb coverage.
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Dec 2009, 18:50   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Now, or I release the scarabs!
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreatAvatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by juraigamer
I see, so the res orb works even while the lord is destroy then by your explanations... and the phylactery only dictates how many wounds it comes back with. Thanks.
No, the Res Orb only works when the Lord is NOT damaged. The check for the range of the ResOrb affect is done at the time the model is damaged not at the WBB roll. Thus, a Lord with a ResOrb is, by rule, always in range of the Orb while units need to have at least one model in range of the Orb to be able to be affected.

Damaged models are considered battlefield debris for most rules, including the affect of wargear. Thus, a damaged Lord cannot help others until repaired.
it doesn't work for other models when the lord is down but it still works for the lord.
__________________
[img width=650 height=87]http://i685.photobucket.com/albums/vv216/shakey_aj/Imperialnecrons.jpg[/img]
Visit 'Unholy's log of war!' for all my latest modelling stuff!
Unholy Harbinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2009, 14:39   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 156
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

Again, the ResOrb affect is during game play not WBB time. It doesn't matter when the Lord's WBB roll is made since the check is done at the time the model is damaged not at WBB.
__________________
There are no stupid questions, just stupid people asking questions.
TheGreatAvatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2009, 17:43   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreatAvatar
Again, the ResOrb affect is during game play not WBB time. It doesn't matter when the Lord's WBB roll is made since the check is done at the time the model is damaged not at WBB.
Then as long as the model is knocked down before the lord, and was in Orb range, it's still eligible? I don't have the codex on me... /:
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Dec 2009, 22:27   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 156
Default Re: Question regarding force weapons and WBB

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiveFleetGoliath
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreatAvatar
Again, the ResOrb affect is during game play not WBB time. It doesn't matter when the Lord's WBB roll is made since the check is done at the time the model is damaged not at WBB.
Then as long as the model is knocked down before the lord, and was in Orb range, it's still eligible? I don't have the codex on me... /:
Before or simultaneously, yes, the model is still eligible.
__________________
There are no stupid questions, just stupid people asking questions.
TheGreatAvatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forms of Nemesis Force Weapons Adam Baker The Inquisition 16 09 Mar 2009 23:34
Force Weapons Adamblaze General 40K 25 31 Mar 2008 23:44
Force Weapons Frogger Space Marines 7 19 Jun 2007 22:29
Best weapons for a tau commander in core force. sarnas Tau 3 22 Jun 2006 17:37
force weapons Soul Wielder Space Marines 5 29 Mar 2005 18:41