Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Does Wargear stack?
Reply
Old 05 Nov 2009, 01:26   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Does Wargear stack?

Can I have a lord with multiple Gaze of Flames, and will the -1 to the leadership stack?
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2009, 01:30   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

You may not take multiples of the same wargear. Also, GoF does not SPECIFICALLY state it stacks with itself, and GW does have a precedent for making sure to clarify when an item with multiples would stack, like, say, the now archaic Tyranid upgrade, Symbiote Rippers.
Droids_Rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2009, 01:31   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

Ok, I'd believe you... if you showed me where that is written. I'm not trying to be a RAW lawyer, but I would generaly like to know why/how i'm being disproven.


(@Khan: That was the term used earilier by... people... when I origonally brought this up)
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2009, 01:54   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, California, North America, Earth
Posts: 1,069
Send a message via AIM to Unusualsuspect Send a message via MSN to Unusualsuspect
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

In this case, finding the exact wording for why taking multiples of the same wargear when it isn't explicitly allowed isn't allowed isn't necessary. (Wow, what a horrifically worded sentence...)

Enemy models in CC with a lord with a GoF get the leadership penalty. For there to be multiple penalties, it would have to explicitly allow multiple leadership penalties to stack. Even if there were two lords, each with GoF, the fact of the matter is that the only qualification for the leadership penalty is that the enemy be in CC with a lord with GoF>
__________________
I you private dancer.
Unusualsuspect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2009, 02:13   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

The GoF entry says that it gives a -1 to LD in addition to any other modifiers.
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2009, 02:15   #6 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

That is correct. But it also states that this applies to any combat involving a model with a Gaze of Flame. It doesn't state that there is any effect if more than one Gaze of Flame is present. Even if you could take two on the same lord, it wouldn't have any additional effect. Nor would it have any effect if you had two Lords in the same combat, each with Gaze of Flame. The other modifiers would be those imposed by outnumbering in 4th Edition and Wounds in 5th Edition (or Soulless).
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2009, 02:16   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southlake, Texas
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via MSN to HiveFleetGoliath
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

Thank you very much Khan. That answered my question.
__________________
VS Droids: W24/L24/T10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenai
Hopefully, my country's customs don't mistake the Genestealer model as being totally made out of cocaine...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boneguard
At least a 5th one, so you can launch a legal squad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
shtlk, I honestly editted instead of posting a reply with a quote. Sorry, Goliath. Trying to figure out these mod abilities.
HiveFleetGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2009, 20:45   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rotterdam, Holland
Posts: 154
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

it would have been very awkward to have multiple 'gazes' on 1 person o.O

and multiple wargear? is it ever possible at this moment?
Sjoerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 Nov 2009, 23:20   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, California, North America, Earth
Posts: 1,069
Send a message via AIM to Unusualsuspect Send a message via MSN to Unusualsuspect
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

Most codices explicitly deny the ability to take multiples of the same Wargear - I'm almost certain the Tau Empire codex does.

Gaze of Flame isn't really the worrisome one, in my mind - I'd be more worried about a Necron Lord with 2-3 Lighting Fields (if they stacked, which, again, the wording doesn't allow).
__________________
I you private dancer.
Unusualsuspect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Nov 2009, 13:51   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: Does Wargear stack?

hoever, you can stack wargear in Apoc games. That said my super bug zapper lord did kick major ass, especially when we played in a vacuume, and all CC and shotting attacks gained rending. Rending scarabs and Lightening fields rules when you have like 5x lightening fields!
Blindmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wargear Thor{DoH} Orks 8 24 Jan 2007 16:50
wargear anohh General 40K 5 11 Nov 2006 08:25
The new wargear... Silverwing General 40K 16 16 Nov 2005 01:10
Space Marine Codex: how does it really stack up. Kingnova3000 Space Marines 4 30 Mar 2005 15:48