Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Couple quick questions
Reply
Old 31 Aug 2009, 02:10   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 204
Default Couple quick questions

So i keep hearing this but i couldn't seem to find where it is really stated in the rules so here it goes. When deepstriking a monolith i heard from about 6 different people that it's basicly the same as a drop pod so you can move it away from terain( though enemy models don't matter since the ponderous rule), but i couldn't seem to find it when i was looking in his codex, is this made up or is it stated somewhere. Also can you fire both the particle whip and the side blasters in the same turn even though it's an ordinance weapon?
rotwiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Aug 2009, 17:40   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Couple quick questions

If a Monolith lands in impassable terrain or off the table, it still rolls on the mishap table. It does not have the same rules as the Drop Pod. Unlike a Drop Pod it shifts models out of the way when it lands, rather than the Monolith itself shifting. The Monolith's rules represent its extreme bulk. The Drop Pod's rules represent its guidance system. They also both count as moving at Cruising Speed when they land, which really throws a wrench in some of the older Monolith tactics. On the bright side, it does mean that Monoliths are difficult to attack on the turn they arrive, and the Particle Whip can still be used since the Power Matrix ignores movement.

The most recent Necron FAQ answers the other question. The Monolith can fire either the Gauss Flux Arc or the Particle Whip. Not both.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Sep 2009, 02:15   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 156
Default Re: Couple quick questions

However, if the Monolith lands in a group of enemy models, the models move out of the way of the Monolith being ponderous and such.

The Monolith either fires the Particle Whip or the Gauss Flux, not both.
__________________
There are no stupid questions, just stupid people asking questions.
TheGreatAvatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New and satisfied daemon player, couple quick questions Seyah Chaos Daemons 9 01 Sep 2009 22:05
Couple Quick ? regarding Deepstrike and Immobilised Vehicles XV88-2 Pilot General 40K 3 21 Jan 2008 22:23
Another couple of quick queries (again lol) ookazi49 Forces of Chaos 2 01 Nov 2006 04:59
Couple quick rules questions heliodorus04 Tau 4 06 Sep 2006 21:48
Couple of quick questions pettsy Orks 2 14 Jun 2006 19:59