Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question
Closed Thread
Old 01 Jul 2009, 19:46   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 570
Send a message via AIM to PsyBomb Send a message via Yahoo to PsyBomb
Default interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

This argument popped up yesterday during a game, I let him have it to save time but it caused me to lose. I would like confirmation now.

Are Necron models that have been killed and waiting for their WBB roll still counted as "on the field" for counting Phase Out? Example: Necron player starts with 40 Necron models. Around turn 5, his count is down to 9 after shooting. Does he immediately Phase Out due to casualties, or to the kills have to be confirmed via failed WBB rolls before they count?
__________________
You know that feeling when you realize that there's a glowing red dot on your forehead? Yeah, it's kinda like that.

Snow Forces of T'olku Sept: 3/4/2
... I like to think I'm learning, though
PsyBomb is offline  
Old 01 Jul 2009, 19:50   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Smack in the Middle of Oregon
Posts: 15
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...th_Edition.pdf

Unfortunately they count as downed when they are waiting for their We'll Be Back roll and the game ends.
Grievelorn is offline  
Old 01 Jul 2009, 19:51   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 127
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

Normally you would wait to see the results of the WBB roll before declaring phase out. Unless the game ends, then they are just down and not counted.
Daeghrefn is offline  
Old 01 Jul 2009, 19:55   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

Phase Out is only checked at the start of the Necron turn, immediately AFTER rolls for We'll Be Back are made. Ergo, it is IMPOSSIBLE for there to be downed Necron models on the tabletop when Phase Out is checked for as they have either just gotten back up or just been removed from the table.
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline  
Old 01 Jul 2009, 20:04   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masked Thespian
Phase Out is only checked at the start of the Necron turn, immediately AFTER rolls for We'll Be Back are made. Ergo, it is IMPOSSIBLE for there to be downed Necron models on the tabletop when Phase Out is checked for as they have either just gotten back up or just been removed from the table.
Actually, I believe there is one case: Leaving Necrons who failed their WBB until your Movement Phase, where they will get a second chance when brought through a Monolith portal.

But, yeah, that is it.
Droids_Rule is offline  
Old 01 Jul 2009, 21:19   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masked Thespian
Phase Out is only checked at the start of the Necron turn, immediately AFTER rolls for We'll Be Back are made. Ergo, it is IMPOSSIBLE for there to be downed Necron models on the tabletop when Phase Out is checked for as they have either just gotten back up or just been removed from the table.
Actually, I believe there is one case: Leaving Necrons who failed their WBB until your Movement Phas3, where they will get a second chance when brought through a Monolith portal.

But, yeah, that is it.
Also remember that phase out will be checked before they get another attempt for WBB, and will not count as standing models for WBB purposes.
Lord Of War is offline  
Old 01 Jul 2009, 21:37   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,741
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

Aye. The re-rolled models don't get their re-roll until AFTER the check for Phase Out. I was just bringing it up to make sure any exceptions are accounted for.
Droids_Rule is offline  
Old 02 Jul 2009, 03:52   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 156
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
Aye. The re-rolled models don't get their re-roll until AFTER the check for Phase Out. I was just bringing it up to make sure any exceptions are accounted for.
Actually, no. PO occurs after ALL WBB rolls have been made (page 13 of the Codex: Necron). Thus, the check of PO is made after the models have been ported through the Monolith, not before.

Thus, after Turn 5, the Necron army might phase out. Roll, and if the game ends the army phases out otherwise continue play into Turn 6.
__________________
There are no stupid questions, just stupid people asking questions.
TheGreatAvatar is offline  
Old 02 Jul 2009, 13:04   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 127
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

The way I read it, you essentially never check for phase out if there is a model "down" waiting to make his check. Only after all those currently on the ground have either stood up or been removed do you make the Phase Out test.
Daeghrefn is offline  
Old 07 Jul 2009, 17:21   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: interaction between We'll Be Back and Phase Out question

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreatAvatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droids_Rule
Aye. The re-rolled models don't get their re-roll until AFTER the check for Phase Out. I was just bringing it up to make sure any exceptions are accounted for.
Actually, no. PO occurs after ALL WBB rolls have been made (page 13 of the Codex: Necron). Thus, the check of PO is made after the models have been ported through the Monolith, not before.
But it stands to reason that you would check for PO before the monolith is going to do anything. If the mechanics worked that way, then there could be two different times to check for phase out (whether or not the monolith in on the field, destroyed, or maybe not even included in the army), which there isn't. Or stranger still, you force a wait time in between the real phase out time and that where the monolith MIGHT make some stand back up, and decide to shoot the main gun anyways, along with a normal shooting phase.
__________________
Alright Blood Angels, who wants to play pin the Tau on the carnifex!
Sau1us is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules Question on falling back, what determines doubling back? Ekiel General 40K 4 28 Jun 2010 10:22
Question regarding Phase Out timing... Nezalhualixtlan Necrons 27 24 Jan 2008 03:48
Which phase is your make it or break it phase? arcadiabulldog General 40K 15 07 Mar 2007 15:11
Difficult question concering the movement in the CC-Phase Wolkenmannn Tau 30 07 Mar 2006 22:36