Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Necron Newb, How's My Army??
Old 06 May 2009, 04:12   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Necron Newb, How's My Army??

Hey what's up everyone? I'm new to this who thing but I'm getting more and more familiar with it and my army is almost completely built and I just wanted to ask you pros for some advice or tips since I want to be awesome at this game and rule with my Necrons ;D

Here's what I have so far....
1 - Necron Lord with Res Orb
1 - Necron Destroyer Lord
48 - Necron Warriors
12 - Scarabs
6 - Necron Destroyers
1 - Monolith
1 - tomb Spyder

And that's all for now. I'm gonna go ahead and buy another Spyder that's for sure. But I'm not sure if I should go and buy 3 Heavy Destroyers or another Monolith. And finally the most important question should I buy 10 Immortals or 10 Flayed Ones? Every has told me Flayed Ones but from this forum I've been hearing otherwise. So what do you guys think? I'm trying to have a solid army for any apposing army that may come my way so any tips or advice would be awesome, thanks.
Old 06 May 2009, 04:35   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Re: Necron Newb, How's My Army??

Well flayed ones are good tie up units, but immortals will probably do more overall damage, and they can keep their distance. It's really just a matter of preference really. The Flayed Ones go nice with other CC oriented crons such as supporting a unit of scarabs or wraiths. Immortals are a fairly reliable firebase that can lend fantastic support/suppression fire. Immortals are a great choice if you like the shooty route.

Flayed ones are cheaper to buy simply because they come two to a blister as opposed to the immortals one. That is if finances are an issue to you. (It was for me when I started Necrons)

I would suggest some heavy Destroyers for some anti-tank capability but so far what you have is pretty solid. Definitely a good starting place.