Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.
Reply
Old 29 Mar 2009, 15:19   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canadia
Posts: 262
Send a message via MSN to ScreamerKiller
Default Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

Hello, this has probably risen up dozens of times, but during sweeping advance, what happens to the downed necron warriors? Are they removed being 'part' of the unit? Or do they sit there just as casualties and get their WBBs as normal?

Necrons have taken a huge surge in popularity, and this question is confusing everyone at my LGS.
__________________
Hydra Dominatus!
ScreamerKiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2009, 16:42   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Now, or I release the scarabs!
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

I am pretty sure (as i have infact done this today with downed warriors ) that the unit moves and the ones that get up have to join the closest unit but if there are no other necron warriors in 6" even if their unit had dissappeared due to sweeping advance they cannot WBB however if they sweeping advanced but are still in 6" then its fine. Also normal things like tombspyders still work.

;D

EDIT: Woot! 75th post i am no longer a rubbish kroot (instead i am a rubbish tau)!
__________________
[img width=650 height=87]http://i685.photobucket.com/albums/vv216/shakey_aj/Imperialnecrons.jpg[/img]
Visit 'Unholy's log of war!' for all my latest modelling stuff!
Unholy Harbinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2009, 20:50   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canadia
Posts: 262
Send a message via MSN to ScreamerKiller
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

Thanks a bunch, that cleared everything up for me.
Guess this can get locked now or sommat.
__________________
Hydra Dominatus!
ScreamerKiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Mar 2009, 23:39   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

I remember this being argued in the past. If I recall right the entire unit, as well as the ones awaiting wbb, are gone. I can't remember where the thread is.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2009, 03:20   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 235
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

Any erratas to make this question official? Had that problem last sunday as well.
__________________
Wu-tang clan ain't nothang ta #$@% wid!!!!
Wu-Tang-Tau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2009, 20:53   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wu-Tang-Tau
Any erratas to make this question official? Had that problem last sunday as well.
There is somewhere. I will look for you, because it was used to show in the last argument I saw concerning this on the site.

This is from the GW site. Linky

I would also like to note that it says Wraiths have an armor and an invulnerably save.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2009, 03:55   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 156
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

ALL models in the unit are lost to a sweeping advance, including those already damaged.
__________________
There are no stupid questions, just stupid people asking questions.
TheGreatAvatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2009, 04:27   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 931
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreatAvatar
ALL models in the unit are lost to a sweeping advance, including those already damaged.
So as to avoid confusion let us detail this.

1. Cron A squad 10 units (5up, 5 damaged). Cron A squad got 'swept in advance'.

only 5 Crons are casualties. the previously damaged 5 crons are still eligible for WBB next turn IF they satisfy the WBB criteria.

2. Cron A squad 10 units (5up, 5 damaged). WBB regains 5 warriors of Cron squad A and joins Cron B (closest unit). Cron B squad got 'swept in advance'.

ALL of them are casualties .

NOTE:
damaged necrons awaiting WBB are 'technically' NOT on the table. If this provides confusion just place pebbles or dice markers in lieu of models. SO damaged necrons cease to be a part of the original squad they are in once in. They will join any nearest squad when they are eligible for WBB and succeeds.

++++
edited.
read again the RAW on sweeping advances and tied it up to Necron WBB. I was wrong.
omegatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2009, 12:37   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Our Kansas... get it?
Posts: 247
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

I have never seen this played where a Cron was allowed a WBB after a sweeping advance. I played two games in a row against Crons in a Tourney in the Winter and both players removed the entire unit when they were swept.
dave_1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2009, 13:03   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 931
Default Re: Sweeping Advance and the Necrons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_1972
I have never seen this played where a Cron was allowed a WBB after a sweeping advance. I played two games in a row against Crons in a Tourney in the Winter and both players removed the entire unit when they were swept.
You're right, in this case both A & B are casualties.

Damaged crons are destroyed completely and not allowed WBB after sucessful sweeping advance.
I stand corrected.
omegatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some questions about Sweeping Advances Melon Master General 40K 6 18 Mar 2009 13:50
Sweeping advance movement question FOXX General 40K 9 25 Mar 2007 19:30
can? [Can space marines be caught in a sweeping advance?] peirced-monster Space Marines 4 06 Sep 2006 00:31
Sweeping advances...how do they work? Tom Norman General 40K 2 04 Jun 2006 14:33
Engaged multiple units and sweeping advance. Bladesuit General 40K 11 20 Feb 2006 23:26