Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

necron wbb???
Reply
Old 19 Mar 2009, 17:17   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 144
Default necron wbb???

i was recently playing a game against a Necron army, he had a unit of 4 destroyers with no other units around them, in my shooting phase i managed to kill all of them with various attacks. then he said that they still get their wbb role, but in his codex it says they can only come back if they are within 6 in of a similar model. so he tried to say that the dead destroyers aren't really dead so they still get wbb. in the end we rolled to see what to do and i won so they didn't come back but it would be nice if we could avoid further argument, so can someone help me out?
commanderbrightsword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2009, 18:00   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to LiinSivi Send a message via Yahoo to LiinSivi
Default Re: necron wbb???

Necrons only get their wwb if there is a like model within 6", period. Even a res orb won't bring them back at that point.
__________________
Imperial troops who fought in the Damocles Crusade described the signature of the barely visible markerlight beams as the Valkyrie's Mark, because those it chose were soon numbered among the dead

"The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other poor bastard die for his" --George S. Patton
LiinSivi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2009, 18:46   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TO!
Posts: 3,293
Default Re: necron wbb???

Don't know what your friend was talking about when his already 'dead' Destroyer (squad?) could get a WBB roll, because they can't unless there's a Lord (with an Orb) or a surviving (similar) - model nearby.



__________________

Dark Adeptus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2009, 18:49   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 144
Default Re: necron wbb???

k thanks cuz he tried to say that they didnt count as dead, so they were within 6 in of a similar unit
commanderbrightsword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2009, 18:58   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: necron wbb???

They have to be within 6" of a like model or tomb spider to get their wbb rolls. A lord with an orb will not count as a like model.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2009, 19:43   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TO!
Posts: 3,293
Default Re: necron wbb???

Quote:
Originally Posted by crothhaar
k thanks cuz he tried to say that they didnt count as dead, so they were within 6 in of a similar unit
No problem. Well, forget what he says, he's using the WBB rule against you, but you now know what it truly means, if he does it again, point it out to him, or show him this topic.
__________________

Dark Adeptus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Mar 2009, 21:13   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Currently abord battlebarge terminus est.
Posts: 793
Default Re: necron wbb???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liinsivi
Necrons only get their wwb if there is a like model within 6", period. Even a res orb won't bring them back at that point.
That's one of the greatest tactics to play against necrons is to destroy every unit of the same type within 6" meaning no WBB roll. In other words if I kill your tooled up unit of destroyers with a lord in a single shooting phase, they're gone! Sometimes it's worth it to mass fire on a single annoying unit, especially with my Tau, necron destroyers wreak havoc.
__________________
"They shall be my finest Cannon Fodder, these men who give themselves to me. Like clay I will mold them and in the furnace of war they will become cracked and broken. They will be of tissue paper and whimpy muscle. In tissue paper armor I clad them and with the mightiest flashlights they will be armed. They will be touched by every sort of plauge or disease to help further make them unhappy, all sickness will blight them. They will have almost no tactics, strategies, but lots of machines so that they can atleast stand up to a foe in battle. They are my tar pit against the Terror. They are the bulk of Humanity. They are my Imperial Guard and they will know much fear!"

A fortress circumvented ceases to be an obstacle. A fortress destroyed ceases to be a threat. Do not forget the difference.
- Attributed to Leman Russ

My armies may sleep, but big guns never tire.


Surrender - or die.
Typhon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2009, 04:13   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: necron wbb???

Now, keep in mind tomb spiders may act as a like model ONLY if there is another model of the same type as the downed squad still standing on the table.

So if you have only one squad of destroyers and they all fall down, even a tomb spider will not save them.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Necron saying hello Valten Necrons 17 28 Feb 2009 02:45
Necron vid!? jralexander Necrons 2 11 Feb 2009 22:03
New To Necron!!!! jralexander Necron Army Lists 2 11 Feb 2009 21:21
Small necron vs necron battle (pariahs-gasp!) Sleep Walker Necrons 1 08 Jul 2007 03:11
Necron vs Necron tactica Sleep Walker Necrons 3 19 Aug 2005 04:34