Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Monolith questions (new ones)
Reply
Old 26 Jan 2009, 01:17   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 91
Default Monolith questions (new ones)

Hey all, I have been having a little look back through and found a few threads w monolith questions but I still have two unanswered.

Firstly I know the lith cannot deepstrike and ordnance, does that therefore mean that if I deepstrike it my warrior squad coming out from reserves through it cannot move other than to disembark (as technically the lith moved)?

Secondly and this is the easier one, now with true los this means no one can shoot under the lith (or any skimmer for that matter) if it is not off the ground enough to see under?

Cheers
__________________
And sneaking around is never cool, unless you're dressed as a ninja. Then it's awesome.
ookazi49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jan 2009, 02:17   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ookazi49
Firstly I know the lith cannot deepstrike and ordnance, does that therefore mean that if I deepstrike it my warrior squad coming out from reserves through it cannot move other than to disembark (as technically the lith moved)?
You can use the particle whip when you deep strike.

Quote:
Secondly and this is the easier one, now with true los this means no one can shoot under the lith (or any skimmer for that matter) if it is not off the ground enough to see under?

Cheers
Yea, the lith blocks los.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Feb 2009, 01:06   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

If you deep strike you still can use the power matrix (ie particle whip teleport etc.) You cant use both the teleport and particle whip in the same turn, because they are both functions of the power matrix, which can only use one function per turn. If you deep strike and teleport you can still move your teleported models but you cant move the monolith, because teleporting others is its movement phase (you can still move your models cause they have not technikley used their movement phase.) If you teleport than you cant use the whip and vise versa. any questions just reply.
__________________





taubroadsidecommander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Feb 2009, 20:04   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 91
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

Thanks mate that cleared it up perfectly.

Cheers
__________________
And sneaking around is never cool, unless you're dressed as a ninja. Then it's awesome.
ookazi49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Feb 2009, 23:40   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

No prob
__________________





taubroadsidecommander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2009, 22:03   #6 (permalink)
DOG
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Posts: 30
Send a message via MSN to DOG
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

Sorry, but No you cant move the teleported unit after a deepstrike since the monolith has move, as any other unit disembarking from any other vehicle that has moved. (p67 1st Paragraph 1st bullit)
DOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2009, 23:21   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOG
Sorry, but No you cant move the teleported unit after a deepstrike since the monolith has move, as any other unit disembarking from any other vehicle that has moved. (p67 1st Paragraph 1st bullit)
Yes you can, i asked my hobby manger on like my first battle.
__________________





taubroadsidecommander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2009, 23:30   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 410
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

A monolith that deepstrikes counts as moving, a unit that gets teleported through the portal can only move if neither it (the unit being teleported) and the monolith hasn't moved already in that movement phase. Since the monolith has already moved it can still transport a unit of necrons but that unit cannot make any further moves. The monolith is explained in the Errata in further detail.

Hobby managers don't know everything, I've had a few debates with GW employees when they were doing things completely wrong, some things they were doing were just weird...
__________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't
Gabriel_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Feb 2009, 00:07   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 133
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabriel_
A monolith that deepstrikes counts as moving, a unit that gets teleported through the portal can only move if neither it (the unit being teleported) and the monolith hasn't moved already in that movement phase. Since the monolith has already moved it can still transport a unit of necrons but that unit cannot make any further moves. The monolith is explained in the Errata in further detail.

Hobby managers don't know everything, I've had a few debates with GW employees when they were doing things completely wrong, some things they were doing were just weird...
well perhaps i misunderstood what he was saying, or the question being presented.
__________________





taubroadsidecommander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Feb 2009, 00:13   #10 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 410
Default Re: Monolith questions (new ones)

Yeah, it's weird. When I started playing 40k I thought the employees knew everything. : Sadly, that's not the case.
__________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary and those who don't
Gabriel_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions for Nightmare Shroud and Deepstriking the Monolith Daeghrefn Necrons 15 21 Sep 2010 02:39
My first ever monolith tentonhammer Showcase 18 22 Sep 2007 16:08
Did someone say Monolith ? Egyptoid Showcase 13 17 Mar 2007 19:45
The monolith Shadowsword Necrons 9 07 Jun 2006 07:23
The Monolith Tau-killer Necrons 25 29 May 2005 00:06