Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

questions about a monlith
Reply
Old 23 Jan 2009, 16:50   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 26
Default questions about a monlith

Hi guys i play the Tau and my little brother play the gaurd we share a small Necron army of about 1500 points and we had a few questions about the armour penatration of the monolith
say he has a unit that includes a Eviscerator in it 2D6+ str to penatrate is it also reduced to 1D6 + str?
and the same for say commander farsight his armour penatration is 2D6+5 is that also reduced
we asked some of the guys that play necrons at our gamming store but they both give differnet answers thankx




FOR THE GREATER GOOD!!!
Lattakay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2009, 17:32   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ramstein, DE
Posts: 2,618
Default Re: questions about a monlith

They wouldn't get their extra penetration dice.
__________________
Take a look at my IG/Ork project log
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.ph...c,75787.0.html

USAFTACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2009, 21:08   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: questions about a monlith

Everything, and I mean everything, gets 1d6 + strength against the Monolith.

The only exception is when you get to roll 2d6 and pick one and only one to use. That is allowed.

You are never allowed to have 2d6 combined and then added to the strength. It is always one d6.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2009, 06:06   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Odessa, Tx
Posts: 26
Default Re: questions about a monlith

ok thanks guys I was wondering it is a pain to kill I have only dropped a few and thats with railheads but good news I ordered a necron lord and another couple heavy destroyers for our Necron army


thankx again guys
Lattakay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2009, 08:39   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,421
Send a message via MSN to Tech_Marine
Default Re: questions about a monlith

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Everything, and I mean everything, gets 1d6 + strength against the Monolith.

The only exception is when you get to roll 2d6 and pick one and only one to use. That is allowed.

You are never allowed to have 2d6 combined and then added to the strength. It is always one d6.
Melta?
__________________
Tech_Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2009, 11:13   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rotterdam, Holland
Posts: 154
Default Re: questions about a monlith

S+D6
Sjoerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2009, 12:33   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 7,449
Send a message via MSN to Circus Freak
Default Re: questions about a monlith

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. T. Marine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Everything, and I mean everything, gets 1d6 + strength against the Monolith.

The only exception is when you get to roll 2d6 and pick one and only one to use. That is allowed.

You are never allowed to have 2d6 combined and then added to the strength. It is always one d6.
Melta?
Especially melta =P It's one of the reasons people hate the Monolith, even a Railgun's only going to penetrate a third of the time, and no one gets better odds than that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Restayvien
Well I'd rather not play the game at all than play it like they did! :P
Crikey! This crazy clown causes commotion like the coming of Christ. Contained in a circle corrupted by crackheads and carnal cravings, he creates no concession to callous cheaters concentrating on nought but cock. Certainly, still a curious and cordial cavalier in the countenance of crazed cads, curs and creeps who condemn courtesy as something corny. No cloud could collapse his crushing crescendo of comical crowing and crimson coiffure. This conjecture on culture comes circumlocutive, consequently...

You may call me Circus.
Circus Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2009, 15:18   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: questions about a monlith

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. T. Marine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Everything, and I mean everything, gets 1d6 + strength against the Monolith.

The only exception is when you get to roll 2d6 and pick one and only one to use. That is allowed.

You are never allowed to have 2d6 combined and then added to the strength. It is always one d6.
Melta?
Everything.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2009, 18:42   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Norfolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,421
Send a message via MSN to Tech_Marine
Default Re: questions about a monlith

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. T. Marine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Everything, and I mean everything, gets 1d6 + strength against the Monolith.

The only exception is when you get to roll 2d6 and pick one and only one to use. That is allowed.

You are never allowed to have 2d6 combined and then added to the strength. It is always one d6.
Melta?
Everything.
Sorry. But what the heck does everything mean?
__________________
Tech_Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Jan 2009, 18:52   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ota, Gunma Prefecture, Japan
Posts: 3,764
Default Re: questions about a monlith

It means that unless it has a specific exception against the Monolith, no weapon in the game may roll more than a single d6 and add it to its strength when attempting to damage it.

Examples of this include the Rending rule, Melta rule, Chainfists and Melta bombs.

Off the top of my head, the only things which are allowed to roll multiple dice against the Monolith are the Vindicare Assassin's Turbo-Penetrator round (though do note that it still does not benefit from the Rending rule) and the Tyranid Acid Spore Mine (since it does not have a strength value vs. vehicles; its sole penetration value is 2d6 + 3).
__________________
[table][tr][td]Regards,
MT.[/td][td] [[/td][/tr][/table][hr]What's an abelian group with an associative, distributive secondary operator and the power to corrupt mortals?
[spoiler=Answer]The One Ring![/spoiler]
[hr]
Masked Thespian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eldar FAQ and Rules Questions. Ask all Rules Questions HERE. sinfox Craftworld Eldar 181 30 Jul 2008 15:52
New to tau, Bunch of questions to help me before my first games, questions added Ekiel Tau 15 03 Jun 2008 01:05
Markerlight questions. NEW QUESTIONS! The_Greater_Good Tau 12 06 Dec 2006 06:27
Tau Questions vonzipper98 Tau 9 21 Nov 2005 20:37