Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Immortal Tactica
Old 28 Oct 2008, 22:02   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Immortal Tactica

Well... Here goes nothing. I'm new to the game, but I guess I could try to offer some advice on the Immortals, my favorite Necron Unit.

EDIT: With an extremely generous helping of advice from Gabriel_, we can go back and clarify some issues, clear things up, and overall just make the tactica better.

OVERVIEW:
Immortals serve as literal walking tanks, with a Toughness of FIVE and a save of 3+. So even if an enemy hits an Immortal, they'd better roll high to wound it. Their weapons are quite impressive, to put it lightly. With a range of 24" and a Str of FIVE, a squad of Immortals can simply tear through infantry units.

STRATEGY:
What I find to be most effective is (keep in mind this has to be a fairly high point match in the first place) is to send two units of Immortals around the side of the battlefield in an attempt to flank the enemy. Now, to actually flank the enemies (i.e. get somewhat behind enemy lines) the phalanx would have to slow down for a few turns, OR use the wonderful device we like to call Veil of Darkness. In fact, this is by far one of the best ways to get your Immortals a decent way past the front lines and into firing position. One quick thing: I'd recommend having a Tomb Spyder within those precious 12", just in case. These Immortals will be taking a brutal beating and will almost certainly need their WBB rolls to keep going. After your Immortals get behind the enemy lines per say, they can dish out extreme amounts of punishment and help take fire off the core of your Phalanx. Keep in mind Destroyers can do this same tactic (except w/o the VoD due to the natural speed) extremely well. Destroyers and Immortals working together can be deadly as well.
Now, what the Immortals can do once in position: