Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Monolith Tactica
Old 18 Oct 2008, 18:25   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Monolith Tactica

The Monolith

Ever since I started playing Necrons a few years back, I've always had a Monolith. I argued the, and I argue now, that the Monolith is the best tank in the game - nothing else works better with the rest of your army. And with armour 14 all around, and the new 5th ed rules, not much is going to be able to take you down easily - and some armies will have next to nothing which will stop you (Blood Angels, my regular opponent, comes to mind)

What is the Monolith?

Quote:
The Monolith combines the properties of Transport craft, armoured destroyer and Necron power icon. Its ponderous form floats across the battlefield, its crystal core pulsing with sickly energy, powerful beams of gauss lightening whipping from its weapon mounts. The frontal section is capable of opening a dark portal, and transporting Necrons to the battlefied to cause fresh havoc
Give me one good reason why I should take a Monolith!

I had to slip this in somewhere. Because model is absolutly fabulous. I have my Monoliths sitting on my desk to show them off.

Has the Monolith gotten better since 4th ed?

Yes. Basically. With tanks harder to take down the Monolith reins supreme under "hard to kill" tanks. Whilst the Land Raider also has armour 14 all around, a bright lance or a chainfist will still stand a chance of blowing it back to the machine god. Not so with the Monolith, which has the fancy Living Metal rule which negates the bonuses that some weapons come with.

I'm getting ahead of myself, apologies. Let's look at what the Monolith can do.

Teleporting I'm going to go into this in a bit more detail later on. But yes, Necron units within 12" of the Monolith can be teleported through its doors, dragging them out of combat, and even letting them take their WBB rolls again.