Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

WBB Question?
View Poll Results: When do you qualify for WBB rolls?
At the point of your model is damaged, check to see if he's within range of another model of same type. As you would do with a resurrection orb 3 18.75%
At the start of your turn just before rolling WBB you check to see who's qualified 11 68.75%
Not really sure about this myself 2 12.50%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Old 21 Sep 2008, 03:12   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Akaiyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Akaiyou Send a message via MSN to Akaiyou Send a message via Yahoo to Akaiyou
Default WBB Question?

Ok this is what happened:

I had 2 units of necron immortals within 6" of each other during my opponent's turn. The Daemon Prince and the Chaos Terminators each moved within assault range of each of these units of Immortals.

The terminators fired away and with twin-linked bolters and heavy flamer and downed 3 Immortals out of a 5 strong unit leaving only 2.

At this point those 3 would be allowed WBB rolls since they are withing 6" of another Immortal model.

However both units were assaulted the Daemon Prince of Nurgle wiped out the unit of 6 immortals by killing 2 and taking no damage in return, then I rolled 2 6s for fall back and was caught in a sweeping advance by the Prince.

The unit of 2 immortals that was assaulted by the terminators were easily wiped out since the bastards all have power weapons. So it was no match there.

So the question is...do the 3 that died earlier by shooting get their WBB rolls or are they automatically taken off because all other models of the same type near them were wiped out?

the Necron FAQ says that with a resurrection orb you check to see if you are allowed WBB rolls at the point that you suffer the casualty. So is this the same for guys that aren't near a resurrection orb? because in the WBB rules in the codex it does not specify at what time you check to see if you are legal to roll WBB.

You roll WBB before your movement phase but you determine if you can at the point that your model is downed? or do you check before rolling WBB to see who's within a model of same type at 6" range and THEN roll WBB for those that qualify?
__________________
Back to 40k.
Akaiyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 03:44   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,130
Default Re: WBB Question?

If you checked as the models died, that'd be silly, as then a unit that is wiped out by fire from several squads would get WBB on all models save those killed by the last squad, even if there is no other unit in range.

Check just before rolling.
__________________
Latest Project: Game Design Forums. Register now to get a low user ID, or reserve a forum for your own project.

My various opinions and tacticas, in article form: Ad clicks always appreciated.

Latest article topic: Video game design

Best free webhost Ive found yet: http://www.ultrawebsitehosting.com/2353.html
Tyndmyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 10:29   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Akaiyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Akaiyou Send a message via MSN to Akaiyou Send a message via Yahoo to Akaiyou
Default Re: WBB Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyndmyr
If you checked as the models died, that'd be silly, as then a unit that is wiped out by fire from several squads would get WBB on all models save those killed by the last squad, even if there is no other unit in range.

Check just before rolling.
Ummm that's actually exactly how you do it with the resurrection orb. Thus why I was mixed up about it.
__________________
Back to 40k.
Akaiyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 15:25   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: WBB Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akaiyou
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyndmyr
If you checked as the models died, that'd be silly, as then a unit that is wiped out by fire from several squads would get WBB on all models save those killed by the last squad, even if there is no other unit in range.

Check just before rolling.
Ummm that's actually exactly how you do it with the resurrection orb. Thus why I was mixed up about it.
The orb does not count as a like model. Also, WBB checks are all done at the start of the turn, so you would remove the models at the start of the next turn when you did all WBB checks.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 15:31   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: WBB Question?

it is my understanding that it's at the start of your turn...since, in your exemple, there are no standing model of the same type within 6" they are all removed.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 20:33   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Akaiyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Akaiyou Send a message via MSN to Akaiyou Send a message via Yahoo to Akaiyou
Default Re: WBB Question?

kk well thanks a lot everyone i just wanted to make sure because i never had that happen before.
__________________
Back to 40k.
Akaiyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Sep 2008, 20:49   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: WBB Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akaiyou
kk well thanks a lot everyone i just wanted to make sure because i never had that happen before.
Yea no problem, that's what we are here for. ;D
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 00:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34