Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Victory points with WWB
Reply
Old 06 Sep 2008, 01:19   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Victory points with WWB

Does an opponent get victory points for destroying necrons if they come back with a WWB roll?
machete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Sep 2008, 01:59   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Victory points with WWB

Quote:
Originally Posted by machete
Does an opponent get victory points for destroying necrons if they come back with a WWB roll?
No, i'm afraid not.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Sep 2008, 03:10   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 481
Default Re: Victory points with WWB

Quote:
Originally Posted by machete
Does an opponent get victory points for destroying necrons if they come back with a WWB roll?
Only if the squad is wiped out (all knocked down) then the opponent would earn a VP.

Any Necrons that make their WBB roll will join the nearest unit, so if the squad was all knocked down, any that make the roll would join a different unit. I've had Necrons "teleported" a foot or more away as a result (Tomb Spyder allowed them the WBB roll when the whole unit was killed in CC).
__________________
Hunt your preferred prey at Aliens vs Predator: The MUD (http://avpmud.com/)
Or play right now by pointing your MUD client or Telnet at "avpmud.com 4000"
Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Sep 2008, 04:19   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Victory points with WWB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maine
Quote:
Originally Posted by machete
Does an opponent get victory points for destroying necrons if they come back with a WWB roll?
Only if the squad is wiped out (all knocked down) then the opponent would earn a VP.

Any Necrons that make their WBB roll will join the nearest unit, so if the squad was all knocked down, any that make the roll would join a different unit. I've had Necrons "teleported" a foot or more away as a result (Tomb Spyder allowed them the WBB roll when the whole unit was killed in CC).
Oh right, a squad would get you points. I was thinking about individual models only.
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Sep 2008, 18:53   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 481
Default Re: Victory points with WWB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Oh right, a squad would get you points. I was thinking about individual models only.
You're right though... I was thinking KILL points, not Victory Points.
__________________
Hunt your preferred prey at Aliens vs Predator: The MUD (http://avpmud.com/)
Or play right now by pointing your MUD client or Telnet at "avpmud.com 4000"
Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Sep 2008, 21:00   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Victory points with WWB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Oh right, a squad would get you points. I was thinking about individual models only.
You're right though... I was thinking KILL points, not Victory Points.
We're both off base ;D
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 Sep 2008, 22:35   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 481
Default Re: Victory points with WWB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan
Oh right, a squad would get you points. I was thinking about individual models only.
You're right though... I was thinking KILL points, not Victory Points.
We're both off base ;D
Yes... time to phase out, repair, and strike again later!

Anyway, back on topic, treat a WBB roll as making a successful Feel No Pain roll - a model knocked down that is eligible to make a WBB roll is not truly dead until it: A. fails the roll, or B. cannot make the roll (nothing in range). To elaborate in full, my understanding is:

For KP, if the last Necron in a unit is destroyed/knocked down/swept, the unit is lost, and opponent gets a KP. Even if some of them get back up, they will join the other unit. Even if the unit is swept, only the Necrons still standing that get swept are removed, any already knocked down earlier in combat stay on table.

For VP, if the model is killed, fails (or cannot take) the WBB roll, it is lost and the opponent will earn VP for it.

For unit size when regrouping, the size is based on the original unit's size, so Necrons that come back and join other units can bring it back up above 50% of its original size and allow a regroup.
__________________
Hunt your preferred prey at Aliens vs Predator: The MUD (http://avpmud.com/)
Or play right now by pointing your MUD client or Telnet at "avpmud.com 4000"
Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Victory Points Redux Wargamer General 40K 21 15 Nov 2009 17:52
Victory Points Go Guard Or Go Home Imperial Guard 17 14 Mar 2006 16:56
WWB and Victory Points Black Behemoth Necrons 10 20 Jan 2006 20:18
Victory Points? Warsmith Tyranus General 40K 16 03 Jan 2006 08:05