Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Need help with necron army vs. Nids
Old 29 Aug 2008, 12:09   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Need help with necron army vs. Nids

I'm new to 40k and my friend has been destroying me with his nids and it's getting very frustrating. I want to build a necron army specially for nids and I need some help. I can't give you a specific army build for them, because he never uses same army but I can give you what he has.
For nids he has, hq: tyrant, warriors, broodlord Elites: Warriors, and Lictor Troops: Genestealers, Hormagaunts, and Ripper Swarms Fast attack: Raveners Heavy Support: Carnifex, and Zoantrope

Here is the Army I have been using:
Hq:
2 lords with rez orbs and veil of darkness

Troops:
2x20 Warriors

Fast Attack:
3 destroyers
4 Scarabs swarms
2 wraiths

Elites:
6 Flayed ones

Heavy Support:
1 tomb spyder

This army is 1507 I think, if you can recommend an army build between 1500 and 2000. I'm sure I need more destroyers. Possibly some heavy destroyers, and probably a monolith. I'm thinking I need to put my troops into smaller groups and, cut out the flayed ones and wraiths? Can anyone help me build a perfect anti nid army?

machete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Aug 2008, 13:11   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Re: Need help with necron army vs. Nids

One thing you will want to watch is your phase out rate. In my brief time with necrons, I loved immortals. The multiple shots would help you take down more bugs before they get to you in Close combat. I like the scarabs, as they are pretty much expendable units. I would try and get them around the enemies flank and tied into close combat with one of the big bugs, More scarab bases equals a longer time that large bug is tied up, giving you more time to focus on taking out immediate threats that have to be addressed.