Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?
Reply
Old 01 Jun 2008, 19:39   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 35
Default NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

my friend insists that i can never for any reason run the NightBringer and Deceiver together in an apocalypses games,because it says in the necron codex you can take up to one C'Tan with your necron army

can someone confirm this for apocalypses?
__________________
AshesOfThePlope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Jun 2008, 20:44   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rotterdam, Holland
Posts: 154
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

well, apocalypse battles state that the FOC doesn't apply. However, special rules such as the rule for C'tan still apply. Therefor, you can only use 1 C'tan, whatever your argument
Sjoerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Jun 2008, 22:28   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 156
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

In Apocalypse, most deployment rules are ignored. You can bring an all Pariah army for instance. Remember, Apocalypse is about having fun. I would say you can bring both C'Tans just not multiple NB or Deceivers.
__________________
There are no stupid questions, just stupid people asking questions.
TheGreatAvatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Jun 2008, 22:57   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 35
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

well i would never bring more then 1 of each,im just wondering cause my friend said i cant bring both but he runs black templars who don't have sniper units but he throws a sniper squad in there in apocalypses, i just don't see that being any different from what im doing
__________________
AshesOfThePlope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Jun 2008, 23:00   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 7,449
Send a message via MSN to Circus Freak
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

But it's not a deployment rule, it's a C'tan special rule. I'd let him do it, but Apocalypse does not override any unit special rules unless it specifically states so. For example, the Inquisition books say only one Temple Assassin may be taken in an army. This is not a FOC restriction, it's a unit special rule. This is only waived in Apocalypse due to the specialist formation.

Until there is a "look, two C'tan" formation available, I'd say that the official rules (which as I said I personally would ignore) state that you can't use both.

Edit: In response to your new thing, Ashes -

He can throw a sniper squad in there in Apocalypse (however unfluffy it may be) because it removes army and force restrictions. However, the C'tan have a unit special rule that says only ONE may be taken. You could take a C'tan and all the Eldar Phoenix Lords and Abaddon if you liked, you just can't take both C'tan as it is a unit special rule that disallows it, and therefore it can't be vetoed by Apocalypse's modification.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Restayvien
Well I'd rather not play the game at all than play it like they did! :P
Crikey! This crazy clown causes commotion like the coming of Christ. Contained in a circle corrupted by crackheads and carnal cravings, he creates no concession to callous cheaters concentrating on nought but cock. Certainly, still a curious and cordial cavalier in the countenance of crazed cads, curs and creeps who condemn courtesy as something corny. No cloud could collapse his crushing crescendo of comical crowing and crimson coiffure. This conjecture on culture comes circumlocutive, consequently...

You may call me Circus.
Circus Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Jun 2008, 01:55   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 156
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

Apocalypse makes changes to a lot of rules. The C'Tan is listed as 0-1 which is overruled by the Apoc rules. Since the C'Tans are unique, I would limit just their deployment to the Nightbringer and Deceiver.

Apoc is all about having fun. Players are free to ignore any rules that get in the way. In fact, the Apoc rules even suggests ignoring Necron Phase Out, a primal rule of the Necrons. So, if Phase Out can be ignored why can't running two C'Tans be played?
__________________
There are no stupid questions, just stupid people asking questions.
TheGreatAvatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Jun 2008, 11:22   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 1,481
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

It's a bit unfluffy. Don't the nightbringer and deceiver hate each other?
__________________
"I really doubt your credibility as a sane person" - Crisis Vyper

"For those who believe, no explanation is necessary.
For those who do not, none will suffice."

"So this is how liberty dies. To a thunderous applause."



100% of posters have false statistics in their signatures. If you're one of the 0% that doesn't, copy and paste this into your sig.
Vallessian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Jun 2008, 11:47   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vallessian
It's a bit unfluffy. Don't the nightbringer and deceiver hate each other?

Its Apocolypse :


Seriously, the main thing in it is to ignore just about every rule. So I would assume that A, you can take both, and that B, they are 100 points cheaper - Apoc doesn't appear to like balancing points, if the BB is anything to go by :
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Jun 2008, 13:24   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,165
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

has anyone noticed the example apocolypse army for necrons IN THE APOCOLYPSE RULEBOOK (at least, i think it is... :P)

it quite clearly has the nightbringer and the deciever in the same army
__________________
El Magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 Jun 2008, 19:48   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: NightBringer and Deceiver in appcolypse?

Apocalypse is the last place you should worry about fluff. :
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which is better: nightbringer, deceiver or monolith Shadownja Necrons 32 11 Mar 2011 11:34
Tzeentch Deceiver ultimatedragonlord House Rules 2 28 Nov 2009 21:20
The Deceiver & the Nightbringer [Datasheets] Hairy Grim Expansions 3 08 Feb 2009 16:45
3670 appcolypse list vs Chaos AshesOfThePlope Necron Army Lists 7 29 Jul 2008 15:03
Deceiver and Tyranids SMSlayer Necrons 9 05 Apr 2005 20:43