Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!
Reply
Old 01 May 2008, 22:41   #1 (permalink)
DOG
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Posts: 30
Send a message via MSN to DOG
Default Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

Have any one else noted that GW has changed the way the monolith works when used to teleport a necron unit through the portal.

1. It no longer counts as always being stationary.
2. A unit to be teleported have to be stationary.
3. Only models eligible to wbb can reroll failed wbb rolls, no wbb rolls for models killed by s*2 shooting or armor ignoring cc weapons.
DOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2008, 22:56   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

Source?
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2008, 23:50   #3 (permalink)
DOG
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Posts: 30
Send a message via MSN to DOG
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

I bought a Necron codex just recently, and when i read it i found that it was not the same content as my friends older Necron codex.

Clear changes as how the monolith works in regards to teleporting unit .
DOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2008, 00:00   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

I had no idea of this update. Are there any other changes you happened to notice?
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2008, 00:25   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 521
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOG
Have any one else noted that GW has changed the way the monolith works when used to teleport a necron unit through the portal.

1. It no longer counts as always being stationary.
2. A unit to be teleported have to be stationary.
3. Only models eligible to wbb can reroll failed wbb rolls, no wbb rolls for models killed by s*2 shooting or armor ignoring cc weapons.
I think that 1 and 2 may simply be a clarification of the 4.0 necron FAQ, first paragraph under monolith. (where it states that a move in addition to teleporting was never part of what necrons were allowed to do.)

As to #3, that was always part of the rules. Models that cannot WBB are removed from the game at once, and therefore cannot get a re roll on WBB when the original roll was denied. Close read the old monolith entry, and you will see that it states that they had to "be eligible to self-repair" in order to get the second WBB roll. Good to hear that they clarified these things though.
BrownKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2008, 00:34   #6 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The States
Posts: 2,212
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

Oh ok haha. Way to make me look like a tard :
Lord Of War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2008, 00:58   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 521
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd
Oh ok haha. Way to make me look like a tard :
No, just a way to keep things sane. Until we see the new books ourselves, we cannot know for sure. Thank you DOG for the info. I will look into it, just as I am sure that Todd and a lot of other necron players will look into it as well.
BrownKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2008, 10:28   #8 (permalink)
DOG
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Posts: 30
Send a message via MSN to DOG
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

Sorry, my bad on point 3 :-[ , its the same meaning in both the old and new codex but written a little differently :.

But point 1 and 2 makes a lot off difference how the monolith is going to be used.

As in the old codex it is clearly stated in the codex and the faq that the monolith always counts as stationary for the purpose of disembarking troops.

This is totally removed in the new printing of the codex, witch means that if the monolith has moved the disembarking troops also counts as if they have moved and can only disembark out to 2".

Also another big difference is that the unit has to be stationary to be eligible to be phased out and teleported, witch is not even stipulated in the old codex and faq, where it did not matter if the unit had moved or not ???

Sadly there are lot of the older printed codex still around in different stores, best bet to get one of the new prints is to check a GW store :

Gw should have preferably recalled all the old prints and definitely updated faq when they do this kind of subtle but important changes > this is also "bad word" important sins the new print looks exactly like the old , its only the writing that has changed ???
DOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2008, 11:15   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

This change happened ages ago.. like when 4th edition came out, stopped wraiths and destroyers teleporting to a monolith, getting out, and then turbo boosting across the board.. they could move like 44" in one turn, so they changed it :P
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2008, 13:31   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,165
Default Re: Newest printing of Necron codex changes how Monolith works!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timjim
This change happened ages ago.. like when 4th edition came out, stopped wraiths and destroyers teleporting to a monolith, getting out, and then turbo boosting across the board.. they could move like 44" in one turn, so they changed it :P
i thought they could still do that.......


the wording as i remember it in my codex (which is only a couple of months old) is "they count as disembarking a transport" or something like that.

that would mean if they and the monolith dont move BEFORE they teleport, they can still turbo-boost


i wont be happy if my GW sold me an out of date codex though :shifty:
__________________
El Magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H: Nid Codex (newest version) w: Newest eldar codex Drax Marketplace - Buy Sell Trade 1 14 Apr 2009 00:08
to all those who have the second printing of the Necron codex shasocastris Necrons 3 04 Sep 2007 20:19
Codex: Necrons, second printing Trogdor Necrons 30 09 Aug 2007 19:51
Necron Monolith, WIP Near Completion DragonReborn Painting 14 29 Jun 2007 12:33
Necron Monolith smilingyello Necrons 26 12 Aug 2005 21:42