Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New Atlanta GA player
Closed Thread
Old 07 Jun 2005, 19:24   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default New Atlanta GA player

Posted earlier on the Tyranid thread...figured I could get more responses here!!!

I am a newbie to the 40k game and have been doing an extensive strudy on which army to start with and have not come up with any final answer ( sorry Regis). I know that the SM's are the most popular but I am not looking for popularity. I am looking for an army that is competitive. I am leaning towards the Tyranids for the painting aspect alone but would like to field arguments for other races as well. Being a Tau site I was wondering how good they will be if the enemy ever reaches them?? I am a complete novice so please do not be offended. If you could, please rank the top 3 races and the bottom 3 in terms of overall combat skills. I know there are other factors and if you would like to weigh in with a scale breaking down each race comparibly that would be welcome? Cant wait for the posts as I am eager to start my 40k domination.
Old 07 Jun 2005, 19:43   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default Re: New Atlanta GA player

Welcome to TO! Nice to have you around!

First off: Many people ask the same questions when they first join. I did too! So with a little search-fu, you can find many of your answers in the forum archives. That doesn't mean we're unwilling to help, however

Secondly: as is the tradition of the first greet-ees, we've got to remind you to not be mean, speel gud, read the forum rules, and please not douse us in kerosine and light us on fire.

Here's a thread that might help:

http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=783

I'm not 100% sure I understand what you're asking, but I'll give it a go anyway.

In terms of Close Combat prowess, there are varying degrees. A lot of armies are good at it, as close combat is an important aspect of the game.